Task Force Umbra - a Raven Guard 5th company WIP

golfdeltafoxtrot

I’m a relapsed hobbyist, dragged back into the 41st millennium by some friends having not collected or played since about 2008. I’ve always been drawn to the Raven Guard by their fluff, and the fact that they’re (theoretically) easy to paint for a reluctant and lazy painter like myself. Therefore, I’ve obtained all my old models from my parents’ loft, and purchased a few new bitz. I’m a kitbasher at heart - I love to convert models, try out new poses or switch equipment around, but I’m starring out slowly to ease myself back into it.

Anyway, I’ve done a little work on a few things over the last few days. My friends and I are planning to reintroduce ourselves to the hobby via the Heralds of Ruin Kill Team rules, which will allow me to ease myself back into building and painting. I will be playing a small detachment of Raven Guard, which so far consists of 5 sniper scouts, 3 Sternguard Veterans, and a Librarian who I’m still working on and is currently in pieces.

Accountability is a big motivator for me, which is why I hope publishing my work on here will keep me going, and I’d also appreciate any criticism or advice more experienced hands might offer. Therefore, as my first post, I present the fruits of this week’s work.

gallery_103206_14222_1117165.jpeg

Three Sternguard Veterans based on a tactical squad chassis. Tactical scopes and stick mags from Anvil Industry to make the special issue bolsters stand out, and an attempt to pose the squad as firing from a static position (except the one guy who’s firing while reviewing his auspex data because he’s got mad skillz). I still need to get some 3mm plastic rod to make suppressors on the bolters though.

gallery_103206_14222_542765.jpeg

Some not-very-heavily converted scouts. Heads are from Anvil Industry’s Black Ops range - I like how they have some of the MkVII helmet aesthetic but have the additional optics.