First game in 8th, new to Blood Angels

NuclearSnowyOwl

Hello beautiful people of the B&C forum, well met.

Today I was able to play my first game of 8th. It was just a quick demo game at the FLGS using the Dark Imperium starter set only (which is all I own right now). I played Kill Team twice in 7th, and I played just a few small games in an escalation league during 6th.

To sum up: I'm a noob at playing the game. Not a noob at hobby modelling. Have read a few Black Library novels so know a bit about the 40k backstory.

I want to run a loyalist Astartes army and have already purchased Codex: Blood Angels for my rules. I want to play fast, hard, and in-your-face. Probably will make a home-spun Raven Guard successor.

What can you recommend to me as the next units to purchase to expand upon my small Dark Imperium army? I'm interested mainly in what is competitive since I will create my own fluff. Fav units are tac marines and any type of vehicle (except bikes), not sure how good Dreads, tanks, and flyers really are, or which ones would be the best and what the specific strategies would be to use them most efficiently. 

Thanks!

Hi Nuclear, welcome aboard.

Ok, I think I know what you want, and have it distilled down to;

loyalist astartes army

fast, hard and in-your-face

Here's where I'm confused; you bought Blood Angels Codex but then talk about a Raven Guard successor chapter.   So...which one is it that you're looking at running?

Assuming your reported playstyle is accurate, I think everyone would agree you want to steer more towards Blood Angels than Raven Guard.  RG have a couple "in-your-face" style units/things they can do, specifically with their "Strike from the Shadows" stratagem, but Blood Angels have more overall options in that regard and really the whole codex reinforces that style of play.