A new Forge World joins the fray

Hi Guys, just using this thread as a way to chart my progress now I've got started with AdMech.

This is Forge World Selhurst

Got a couple of start collecting boxes and other bits, but so far this is what I've painted. Punch the Datasmith and his 2 Kastellan Charges, SAK-0 and SAK-40

fRSXDMb.jpg

It's my first attempt at edge highlighting. Think I might keep that to smaller models or small parts and go back to drybrushing large areas

I wouldn't give up on edge highlights if I was you, is just make them a little subtler. So it looks like you painted blue, washed it, then highlighted lighter blue, so it's a big color jump. I would start by just highlighting the same shade of blue you started with because it will be lighter than the washed blue. Then very lightly hit some spots with the lighter blue. It will be a more gradual transition. You've got a good start here!

Edge highlighting is something you improve on quickly as you get more experience. Like Tyriks I usually use the colour I just washed as it's not too different, depending on how much wash you use. It also usually gets reserved for special character models and the like but it's something you can return to on models later so don't focus too much on it :tu:

That's a great plan, I did the same for my Chaos army and it's worked nicely :smile.: I'd still recommend focusing on getting models done for now, as putting them on the table is great motivation. It'll also give you a better idea as to what you may like to do/change/etc so you can return to the scheme and it can grow "organically" along with your skills :thumbsup: