ETL hints/tips, advice, and color schemes

So ETL is coming in "about a month". This is my first time and probably others first time participating in ETL. To make the SW well represented and making Russ and the Allfather proud, I thought the veterans could give advice to the young 'uns. Things like various color schemes, tricks, how to properly participate , unspoken rules etc etc.

Fenrys Hjolda!

The most important thing i've learned from past ETLs is to pace yourself properly.

Everybody is in a rush to paint the most amount of points NOW, but life has a way of screwing the best laid plans.

Manageable, meaningful vows are the key to an enjoyable ETL

I should know, I was once the Fang's Champion

Being the Fang's Champion would be a considerable honor that I doubt I can achieve. I plan on making my vows rather small most groups of 5 or 10 Primaris modified to be Wolf Guard or Grey Hunters. Taking my time right now to plan my conversions out and put them together in manageable batches.

I did notice that a number of past ETL members had difficulty getting up to speed due to messy work areas or I'll prepared amounts of paint. So might be a good idea to pick up extra paint and a broom/vacuum to clean the place up.

It's a B&C inter forum painting competition. Usually over about 3 months, each sub forum pledges to paint X amount of points, with each member picking a sub forum to paint for and making a specific pledge (eg, 10 Grey Hunters for 200 points, Rhino for 50 and Dreadnought for 120, total vow value 370). Before and after pics must be posted, maximum 5 vows, 3000 points max per vow. The sub with the highest point total of completed vows at the end wins. Though in the more recent competitions, the sub has also been penalised for uncompleted vows iirc.

Run by Captain Semper, he usually posts the full rules closer to time. But that's the basics.

The most important thing i've learned from past ETLs is to pace yourself properly.