Penitent Engines can do whaaat!?

I was playing a game against the Salamanders, and using three Penitent Engines, when the other player pointed out I was using the PEs wrong. I was rolling 1d6 for the heavy flamers, but he pointed out that the PEs actually have TWO heavy flamers. I should have been rolling 2d6 for number of hits. I've been doing this wrong since I started playing 40k last year. I trust that he is correct since he has been playing for many years and many editions. Has anyone else been doing like I did, and only rolling one die for number of hits? Penitent Engines just got much better for me!

It's got 2 heavy flamers, so yeah, 2d6.

Are you also rolling for Desperate for Redemption for those sweet, sweet extra fight phases?

Whether they're liquidating heretics or dying from shooting to keep your Sisters alive, PEs do good work.

I've been doing the extra melee attacks on the 4+, but was totally cheating myself out of the second d6 of heretic purging blessed Promethium. I won't be forgetting that again.

Absolutely, Montford! PEs are so good, I just wish they could get the 6+ Shield of Faith save. That would really be a game changer for us.

Mossback that would be excellent indeed! If the situation allows I like to keep Celestine within six inches to grant them the save, but mostly Celestine is elsewhere.

Penitent Engines are amazeballs! Great looks great rules. Just a shame theyve such a detrimental special rule.

Made of wet paper: if your opponent declares a shooting attack against this unit, immediately remove it from play.

Not being able to claim cover from tailing behind rhinos hurts. My experience is they get shot off the board top of turn 1. Too expensive a bullet magnet.

But yeah, get them where they need to be by some miracle and they bring the pain.

My opponents have yet to focus them for some reason... I usually throw them behind the biggest piece of LOS terrain I can find, which screens them from many shooting optIons, but not all.