How to commit vile Tech Heresy! A tourists guide to Xana II

Stray

I wanted to start a thread where I could catalog the process of building up my House Malinax army.

I've been collecting Knights for a few years now. Originally, I ran a House Taranis Army - I love Knights and the Skitarii, so the House with the closest ties to Mars seemed a great fit! The issue I ran into was one that I suspect is common to many - the availability of transfer sheets.

House Malinax has an equally great colour scheme, is really quite well supported in fluff (for a Knight House), and has a very easy to get hold of set of decals thanks to ladies and gentlemen at Forge World.

But a Dark Mechanicum aligned house comes with issues of its own. Typically, Knight Houses don't do well on the table top if run by themselves as pure Knights. If you're playing with Imperial Knights, it's not so much of an issue. You can take that squad of Rangers or Vanguard to screen or capture objectives and have a really fluffy force. With Renegades, not so much - unless you want to play 'counts as'.

I really like to play fluffy armies. I'm probably a little 'OCD' in that respect and, over time, I started to research what I could about Xana II itself, it being the defacto home world of my House. (Interesting place Xana II. To describe it as 'slightly dodgy', is somewhat akin to describing water as wet - and they still locked up old Scoria for taking tech heresy a bit too far... it kinda begs the question O.o...)

The Knight aspect of my army is pretty simple. I currently own 5 Knights with a 6th awaiting delivery from FW

I'm going in blind to an extent as I have no idea whether or not the upcoming codex is going to increase my options at all - right now, I have no access to units like the new Armigers, let alone fluffy troop choices like Skitarii via normal rules support.