Kitbashing terminators and veterans

Ceranidian

Hi guys, 40k beginner here looking for advice

So I'm planning purchases to expand my tiny (for now) Deathwatch army, and like pretty much everyone is I'm now looking for good ways to get my hands on stormbolter vets. One idea that crossed my mind was using the FW terminator upgrade kits that come with combi-bolters, which are more or less storm bolters. Since I'm also considering giving my vets power axes instead of the more commonly suggested chainswords (unless this is a bad idea?) a kit like https://www.forgeworld.co.uk/en-CA/Legion-Tartaros-Terminator-Power-Axe-Set would be an awesome solution. 

However, I'm a bit worried about proportions. Does anyone know how well Tartaros/Cataphractii hands matches MkVIII power armour? Will they look ridiculous or can it work?

Chainswords are suggested because it is a free attack for free so they should be on Vets even if they are long range shooters. Power weapons are 4-5 points per model so they add up fast. With 5 vets that's 25 points so an extra frag cannon/~Vet. But if you know your going to get close with high AP(2+, 3+, 4+) models with a toughness of four then axes are great because its strength allows hit rolls of 3 rather than 4.

Thanks for the suggestions guys! I see why chainswords are the more common (and probably better) choice, I guess I could search for some on eBay. But regardless; do you know if Tartaros terminator hands work on power armour arms? Could be useful knowledge for future kitbashing!

I've heard rumors it could also be good sticking to GW parts if you want to play in GW stores. Is there any truth to this?

Depends on the Store, officially not I think but some Manager may allow it depending on how noticeable/unnoticeable the bits are.

From memory the plastic Tartaros hands on the storm bolters are a tad large but the forgeworld looks slightly smaller in that picture, you can also always cut the hand away and use plastic normal marine hands.