Got a question, and I can't find the answer to it. An Imperial Fists player is running the Stone Gauntlet Rite of War, that specifies only Legion Champions and a single Legion Consul HQ choice can be taken. His list has Polux, a named IF HQ Character that has no rules about joining Stone Gauntlet. He insists there is a rule that allows named characters and Praetors to ignore RoW's limitations. I can't find such a rule anywhere. Can y'all help me out please?
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Can Praetors or Named Characters Ignore RoW's?
Posted 12 June 2018 - 03:38 PM
Polux can be taken as he isn't a consul. By a single consul, they mean only one consul specialisation can be chosen for the list not that the only HQ allowed is a consul (if that was the case the only way to get the rite would be through a delegatus). There are no restrictions on other HQs (named characters, praetors, regular centurions).
My (very slow) Alpha Legion blog for the Horus Heresy:
My (hopefully not any slower than the above) Imperial Guard blog:
Posted 12 June 2018 - 03:40 PM
Harrowmaster got it first, but that is not quite how that rule works:
'With the exception of the Legion Champion type, detachments sing this Rite of War may only take a single Consul as part of their HQ choices'
All that means is:
1. Only one Consul (i.e. Chaplain, Librarian etc.) can be taken in the list.
2. This restriction does not apply to Legion Champions - so you can take a Chaplain and a Champion
3. You can take as many Praetors, Special Characters, and Centurions as you like.
30k Word Bearers (and soon to be Daemons, Cults and Militia, and Dark Mechanicum) - http://www.bolterand...lth-shall-burn/
I have spare 30k Word Bearers Transfers (Pre-Heresy, Unspeaking, Serrated Sun, Graven Star) - http://heresy30k.inv...sale-4x-sheets/
Posted 12 June 2018 - 10:09 PM
See, I'm totally reading this differently. "With the exception of the Legion Champion type, detachments using this Rite of War may only take a single Consul as part of their HQ choices."
It specifies that the HQ choices are Legion Champions and a single Consul. Or, looking at it from a different way, the HQ choices are Legion Praetors, Legion Consuls (and their sub-types), Damocles Command Rhino, and a Legion Command Squad (plus whatever specific Legion units/characters with the right rules). Out of all those HQ choices, the only ones I can take are Legion Champions and a single Consul. I have choices, but those choices are restricted to Legion Champions and a single Consul.
"Here are your choices, and out of those choices, you can only take a single Consul". That's how it reads to me. How can it be read to say "Here are your choices, you can take any of those choices, but you can't take more than a single Consul".
Victory needs no explanation, defeat allows none.
Posted 12 June 2018 - 10:26 PM
That interpretation is incorrect; the wording is already clear. Not to mention the fact that f you were only allowed to take Legion Champions & a single Consul as HQ choices, you would be unable to actually run the Rite of War without Dorn, which would be absurd.
The Unblinking Eye
A (perpetually inactive) blog about 30k & the Sons of Horus 29th Company
Posted 13 June 2018 - 09:32 AM
- Bulbafist and Fenbain like this
Heresy Era Lords of War; use this to find out the complete collection of available Lords of War for Battles in the Age of Darkness.
Reply to this topic
0 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users