Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Can Praetors or Named Characters Ignore RoW's?


8 replies to this topic

#1
Tamwulf

Tamwulf

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,407 posts
  • Location:30,000 feet orbiting above your head

Got a question, and I can't find the answer to it. An Imperial Fists player is running the Stone Gauntlet Rite of War, that specifies only Legion Champions and a single Legion Consul HQ choice can be taken. His list has Polux, a named IF HQ Character that has no rules about joining Stone Gauntlet. He insists there is a rule that allows named characters and Praetors to ignore RoW's limitations. I can't find such a rule anywhere. Can y'all help me out please?  


Victory needs no explanation, defeat allows none.
 

 


#2
Harrowmaster

Harrowmaster

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 561 posts
  • Faction: Alpha Legion, Imperial Guard

Polux can be taken as he isn't a consul. By a single consul, they mean only one consul specialisation can be chosen for the list not that the only HQ allowed is a consul (if that was the case the only way to get the rite would be through a delegatus). There are no restrictions on other HQs (named characters, praetors, regular centurions). 


My (very slow) Alpha Legion blog for the Horus Heresy:

 http://www.bolterand...y-alpha-legion/

 

My (hopefully not any slower than the above) Imperial Guard blog:

http://www.bolterand...3rd-army-group/

 


#3
Apostle of the 30th Host

Apostle of the 30th Host

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 436 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Harrowmaster got it first, but that is not quite how that rule works:

 

'With the exception of the Legion Champion type, detachments sing this Rite of War may only take a single Consul as part of their HQ choices'

 

All that means is:

1. Only one Consul (i.e. Chaplain, Librarian etc.) can be taken in the list.

2. This restriction does not apply to Legion Champions - so you can take a Chaplain and a Champion

3. You can take as many Praetors, Special Characters, and Centurions as you like.


30k Word Bearers (and soon to be Daemons, Cults and Militia, and Dark Mechanicum) - http://www.bolterand...lth-shall-burn/

 

I have spare 30k Word Bearers Transfers (Pre-Heresy, Unspeaking, Serrated Sun, Graven Star) - http://heresy30k.inv...sale-4x-sheets/

 

 


#4
Gorgoff

Gorgoff

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,553 posts
  • Location:Germany, Osnabrueck
  • Faction: IVth Legion
As long as they are not Consuls. :)
Bring back Psycho Dad!
gallery_48988_10980_12646.png

#5
K3nn3rs

K3nn3rs

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 376 posts
I hope the ‘discussion’ didn’t ruin the game...
😬

Edited by K3nn3rs, 12 June 2018 - 05:53 PM.


#6
Tamwulf

Tamwulf

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,407 posts
  • Location:30,000 feet orbiting above your head

See, I'm totally reading this differently. "With the exception of the Legion Champion type, detachments using this Rite of War may only take a single Consul as part of their HQ choices."

 

It specifies that the HQ choices are Legion Champions and a single Consul. Or, looking at it from a different way, the HQ choices are Legion Praetors, Legion Consuls (and their sub-types), Damocles Command Rhino, and a Legion Command Squad (plus whatever specific Legion units/characters with the right rules). Out of all those HQ choices, the only ones I can take are Legion Champions and a single Consul. I have choices, but those choices are restricted to Legion Champions and a single Consul.

 

"Here are your choices, and out of those choices, you can only take a single Consul". That's how it reads to me. How can it be read to say "Here are your choices, you can take any of those choices, but you can't take more than a single Consul".


Victory needs no explanation, defeat allows none.
 

 


#7
Marshal Loss

Marshal Loss

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,612 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Faction: Sons of Horus

That interpretation is incorrect; the wording is already clear. Not to mention the fact that f you were only allowed to take Legion Champions & a single Consul as HQ choices, you would be unable to actually run the Rite of War without Dorn, which would be absurd.


bl-logo.jpg

The Unblinking Eye
A (perpetually inactive) blog about 30k & the Sons of Horus 29th Company


#8
Hesh Kadesh

Hesh Kadesh

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,859 posts
It can be read both ways, but only one of which makes sense. In a perfect world, FW would learn how to write rules and preclude this, but if you have a RoW which prevents Praetors from being an option, you end up with a circular reference preventing the RoW from being eligible.
  • Bulbafist and Fenbain like this

Resources;

Heresy Era Lords of War; use this to find out the complete collection of available Lords of War for Battles in the Age of Darkness.


#9
shamsael

shamsael

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 13 posts
Yeah, given the fact that you need a Master of the Legion to run any rite of war, it’s highly unlikely the restriction is saying you can’t run HQs other than Consuls.

Edited by shamsael, 19 June 2018 - 12:20 PM.




Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users