Free Company Army with some Titans

demented

First things first thank you for looking and I hope you all enjoy this thread!

Background

I am a returning hobbyist that hasn't done much in the hobby over the last five years. The last project I had was a Relictors army that went unfinished before life took me in another direction.

This army isn't for playing the game, in fact I've only played 40k three times and I have been in the hobby on and off since fourth edition. I just don't have the time to dedicate to playing. I do however, love painting, modelling and creating history and background for my projects. So some of the choices I make in this thread won't be legal in game or may be suboptimal/bad choices. Those are all intentional.

This thread will contain models, conversions, army history, and background for each unit within the army. Please be warned that my writing skills leave a lot to be desired!

I'd like to get a few things out of this thread

1. Get ideas for mercenary units, history/background hooks and conversions
  2. Get some feedback on painting/writing faults and improvements (I'm thick skinned so don’t be afraid to be harsh I won't take it as an insult).
  3. Show off my models (doesn't everyone?)

Army Concept

In the time since my last Army project I have been reading. I have taken a particular liking to books based on Mercenary companies and when the Imperial knights came out I just had to do a free blade one. So I put my Necron army project to one side and started working out what I would do for a free blade knight. After throwing some ideas at a friend who also collects, the free blade knight project quickly grew into a full blown mercenary themed imperial army.

So this is my basic starting point of the mercenary army, As the thread continues, the background, history etc will grow organically and become more substantial.