What to look for in a camera for miniature photography?

I've got no camera.

Trying to fix that issue I went to several local electronics stores and looked through the digital camera aisles.

But now I'm completely overwhelmed by what's on offer. :unsure.:

So, what should I look for when picking a (digital) camera for miniature photography?

I know I should probably go for something with a high resolution.

I also know I should go for optical zoom over digital zoom (since you just can not get more information from the same amount of sensor data).

Macro-mode seems to be a feature on some cameras for photographing small objects - is that usefull?

Different cams use different sensors, e.g. cmos vs ccd, what's the dis-/advantage of each sensor type?

What else is there I absolutely need to know before shopping around for a (digital) camera?

Up front I'll just say that this is my subjective opinion and by no means gospel. I'm not a professional photographer but I've been taking pictures for decades including darkroom work, so I do have a strong working knowledge of the settings and process that will matter.

Key things I'd look for:

• A good 'Manual' mode
  • A macro function
  • Ability to shoot in RAW image format
  • Built-in flash
  • Tripod mount
  • AA or AAA battery operation

I'm usually not a brand loyalist and use whatever brand provides the features and function I need, no matter what the product is. That said, I've preferred Canon cameras for decades because they've got the right feature set for small studio (aka: miniature) photography. I've tried other brands and was always disappointed where Canon just gets it right every time.