Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

New to Death guard, must-haves/advice?

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

Shadowgaunt

Shadowgaunt

+FRATER DOMUS+

• + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 4 posts

I've been playing Tyranids for about 3 years and decided it was time for a new army. Being new to CSM and Daemons I find Death guard and army building with them slightly confusing. My friend is willing to split dark imperium with me and I would like to know what else to get to make a decent list. I'd appreciate to know any must-haves (other than Typhus) and maybe even some example lists and strategies, thanks in advance!

Lord Marshal

Lord Marshal

+FRATER DOMUS+

• + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 842 posts
  • Faction: Imperial Guard

The consensus on Must Haves is roughly:

Daemon Prince of Nurgle (with wings/talons)

Foetide Bloat-Drone with Plaguespitters

Plagueburst Crawlers

After that, I think the question is how tied you are to Plague Marines? I ask this because some people, even in competitive-ish lists, don't feel right not including them. Others are happy with just Cultists.

Prot

Prot

++ EQUES AEDITUUS ++

• ++ MODERATI ++
  • 12,869 posts

Hi Shadowgaunt- welcome to a pretty popular and fun chaos army.

I think you'll like the overall flexibility of the Death Guard. A lot of Chaos seems a little stuck into a list and there's not a lot of popular options. The Death Guard do work really well with what's already been suggested: Foetid Bloat Drones, Plague Burst Crawlers and Daemon Princes.