Reaver arms magnetising example

Burni

I'm posting my solution to magnetising the arms on the Reaver as I've seen a few people asking about how to do it. Now, I'm no expert modeller so I don't want to call this a tutorial or say it's the best way to do it but if it helps others, then I'm willing to show my shoddy work :)

I drilled a pilot hole to find the centre of the socket and also allow me to dry fit the ball and push a pin through to mark the ball at the correct place.

Reaver magnetising: Showing pilot hole

I then used a pin vice with a 3mm bit to drill a recess for the magnet. I used 3mm x 0.5mm disc magnets - N42 spec, which seems to have enough pull.

Reaver magnetising: Showing socket magnet

I then did the same on the balls for the weapon arms. To stop the hole getting too deep before the throat was wide enough for the magnet (due to is being a ball shape), I used a 4mm bit from my DIY kit to open it up a bit.

Reaver magnetising: Showing fist arm magnet placing

Reaver magnetising: Showing gun arm magnet placing

I'm happy with the results but the positioning of the magnet in the ball is very tricky. Its almost impossible to know if you're bang on and mine varied a bit. So when the arms are in, they don't match. One points slightly up and the other down. It looks fine but it is a random element. Be prepared for that or work out a way to do it better (and tell me!)

Anyway, I hope this helps someone. The Reaver is a lovely kit (like the Warlord) and I'm looking forward to Warhound in a few weeks time!

Great idea with the pilot hole from the top. Might I suggest also magnetizing the actual weapons at the elbow joint? This way you can swap sides freely for them as well.

I'm still waiting for my order from two weeks ago :(