Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Random questions about Codex: Chaos SM


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#26
Indefragable

Indefragable

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,905 posts
  • Location:Boston, MA, US of A
  • Faction: Blood Angels

As the rules stand now, a character who hits on a 2 with prescience (or a similar ability) giving him +1 will miss, because natural hit rolls of 1 always fail.

A model who shoots plasma and rolls a 1 to hit, +1 for prescience, will miss, because 1s always miss, but he won’t splat himself, because the final total is a 2.

Unless he is shooting something with a minus to hit - or unless GW changes the rules to “natural” 1s causing death, th way it is in Kill Team.

 

Got it. So unless you're overcharging, +1 on a BS2+ unit is generally "wasted" compared to a unit with say BS3+ where there's a bit more benefit.


Call me Indy. It's less syllables.

 

 

gallery_93095_13980_27776.jpgETL_VI_Banner_Primus_Interpares_Astartes


#27
Iron Father Ferrum

Iron Father Ferrum

    ++ INTERFECTOR PRODITORES ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 5,776 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Faction: Iron Hands
Depends on what you're shooting at too. Alaitoc? Supersonic flyer?
Posted Image

+Corruption of Purpose: Heretic Astartes+
+The Blade Unsheathed: Asuryani+

+AO+ Currently seeking a PhotoShopper to make me a Chaos banner for this signature. +OA+


#28
Mekhitar

Mekhitar

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 281 posts
  • Location:Connecticut
  • Faction: Ashen Wing, Mercurial Legion
There are occasional reasons to do it (prescience lasts till your next psychic phase, so maybe you are about to charge and want to trigger dttfe more easily), but in general, it’s less useful on BS 2+.

Do you hear the people sing?


#29
Indefragable

Indefragable

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,905 posts
  • Location:Boston, MA, US of A
  • Faction: Blood Angels

There are occasional reasons to do it (prescience lasts till your next psychic phase, so maybe you are about to charge and want to trigger dttfe more easily), but in general, it’s less useful on BS 2+.


Good point. It effects Overwatch as well, right?

All them more interesting on Termies with plasma and power/chain Fists.

Call me Indy. It's less syllables.

 

 

gallery_93095_13980_27776.jpgETL_VI_Banner_Primus_Interpares_Astartes


#30
Mekhitar

Mekhitar

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 281 posts
  • Location:Connecticut
  • Faction: Ashen Wing, Mercurial Legion
Alas no, modifiers don’t affect overwatch unless the ability specifically says so - such as AM’s “Defensive Gunners”.

It does however affect Music of the Apocalypse on Noise Marines, so that’s fun.

A daemon prince with the ax or a lord with a fist are examples of WS 2+ units that can benefit.

Do you hear the people sing?


#31
Iron Father Ferrum

Iron Father Ferrum

    ++ INTERFECTOR PRODITORES ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 5,776 posts
  • Location:Florida
  • Faction: Iron Hands
Oh, Prescience does benefit WS2+ units...via DTTFE. That'll make extra attacks proc on a 5+ instead of a 6+, or a 4+ off an Icon of Excess.
Posted Image

+Corruption of Purpose: Heretic Astartes+
+The Blade Unsheathed: Asuryani+

+AO+ Currently seeking a PhotoShopper to make me a Chaos banner for this signature. +OA+


#32
Indefragable

Indefragable

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,905 posts
  • Location:Boston, MA, US of A
  • Faction: Blood Angels

Oh, Prescience does benefit WS2+ units...via DTTFE. That'll make extra attacks proc on a 5+ instead of a 6+, or a 4+ off an Icon of Excess.

 

Yea interesting.

 

So Chosen with dual chainswords and Icon of Excess + Prescience would be getting extra attacks against Imperials on a 4+. Combine with Dark Apostle and that's a nice little blender squad. But is it pointless when you can just bring Khorne Berzerkers and pop the fight again (3rd time) strategem?


Call me Indy. It's less syllables.

 

 

gallery_93095_13980_27776.jpgETL_VI_Banner_Primus_Interpares_Astartes





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users