Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Airborne, Hover Jet, and Objectives

Battlefield Role: Flyers

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1
Jolemai

Jolemai

    ++ CERDONIS CÆDIS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 13,677 posts
  • Location:Ynyshir, Porth
  • Faction: Blood Angels

The latest BRB FAQ has an addendum about Sudden Death and to paraphrase it, models who have the Flyers Battlefield Role do not count for this; in short it's all about boots on the ground. The blurb to support this is that they don't stay in combat airspace indefinitely. However, this doesn't say anything about collecting objectives during/at the end of the game.

 

Now, it's my understanding that those with the Airborne special rule can't collect objectives.

  • Have I/my group just assumed this based on the Sudden Death ruling above?
  • Is it because the flying base is more than 3" tall (and thus you're out of range of an objective, or is that another assumption/rules lawyering/house rule)?
  • Does it mention in anywhere in the BRB/various FAQs?

If I elect to use Hover Jet on a model that has it, it loses Airborne (and some other special rules) for that turn.

  • Can it now collect objectives?
  • Many folk remove the model from the flying stand at this point (house rule?). Whilst being fluffy and a good way to keep track during a game this would put it into range of collecting an objective...
  • Is this any rules that support using Hover Jet in this manner, or is this overruled by any restrictions to it's battlefield role (if there are any and if so, where considering the above blurb about Sudden Death is just that: blurb)?

gallery_62972_14467_5178.jpggallery_62972_14467_1351.jpggallery_62972_14467_4151.jpggallery_62972_14467_3390.jpg

Blogs Blood Angels | Veritas Vitae | Battle Reports | Terrain | IXth Legion | Miscellaneous Imperials
1000 Scout list W:0 D:0 L:4
1250 Death Company List (jump) W:0 D:0 L:4
1500 Light Mech List W:0 D:0 L:0 Dreadnought List W:1 D:0 L:1
1750 Hybrid List W:1 D:0 L:0
1850 Death Company List (mech) W:0 D:0 L:0
2000 Heavy Mech List W:0 D:0 L:0 Two Towers List W:4 D:0 L:4
Apocalypse W:1 D:0 L:0 | Heresy 2500 Mechanised IXth W:0 D:0 L:0

#2
Charlo

Charlo

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 20,345 posts

So the rules do exactly as they say.

 

Flyers don't count for Sudden Death because of their battlefield role. The only ruling that refers to rules is the Sudden Death section, the comment about holding ground would need to talk specifically about objectives to count for them. Which leads me too...

 

In Chapter Approved 2018 there were new Match Play rules implemented, one of which was:

 

Boots on the Ground:

When determining which player controls an objective marker, exclude all units that have the Flyer Battlefield Role – these units can never control objective markers
 
It's hidden in the new missions, but is effective in ALL matched play games.
 
Regarding Hover Jets, again this has no interactions with the ability to capture objectives. Using a Stormraven as the example, it simply removes the Airbourne, Hard to Hit & Supersonic rules and lowers the movement for the model from 20"-45" to 0"-20".


#3
Jolemai

Jolemai

    ++ CERDONIS CÆDIS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 13,677 posts
  • Location:Ynyshir, Porth
  • Faction: Blood Angels
Thought I was missing something, cheers :tu:

gallery_62972_14467_5178.jpggallery_62972_14467_1351.jpggallery_62972_14467_4151.jpggallery_62972_14467_3390.jpg

Blogs Blood Angels | Veritas Vitae | Battle Reports | Terrain | IXth Legion | Miscellaneous Imperials
1000 Scout list W:0 D:0 L:4
1250 Death Company List (jump) W:0 D:0 L:4
1500 Light Mech List W:0 D:0 L:0 Dreadnought List W:1 D:0 L:1
1750 Hybrid List W:1 D:0 L:0
1850 Death Company List (mech) W:0 D:0 L:0
2000 Heavy Mech List W:0 D:0 L:0 Two Towers List W:4 D:0 L:4
Apocalypse W:1 D:0 L:0 | Heresy 2500 Mechanised IXth W:0 D:0 L:0

#4
Slasher956

Slasher956

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,200 posts
  • Location:The Kingdom of the East Saxons!
  • Faction: OoOML, Ulthwé

 

So the rules do exactly as they say.

 

Flyers don't count for Sudden Death because of their battlefield role. The only ruling that refers to rules is the Sudden Death section, the comment about holding ground would need to talk specifically about objectives to count for them. Which leads me too...

 

In Chapter Approved 2018 there were new Match Play rules implemented, one of which was:

 

Boots on the Ground:

When determining which player controls an objective marker, exclude all units that have the Flyer Battlefield Role – these units can never control objective markers
 
It's hidden in the new missions, but is effective in ALL matched play games.
 
Regarding Hover Jets, again this has no interactions with the ability to capture objectives. Using a Stormraven as the example, it simply removes the Airbourne, Hard to Hit & Supersonic rules and lowers the movement for the model from 20"-45" to 0"-20".

 

 

Question about the bold part.... is that CA 2018 thats not been put up for pre-order OR is it a typo for 2017?

 

(never brought the 2017 one so cant check)



#5
Charlo

Charlo

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 20,345 posts

Sorry, 2017 is the one I mean.

 

It's baffling to me they release in December and have the current year on...


  • Slasher956 likes this

#6
Quixus

Quixus

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 6,972 posts
  • Faction: To be decided later

So hovering does not grant the ability to hold objectives, right?



#7
Slasher956

Slasher956

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,200 posts
  • Location:The Kingdom of the East Saxons!
  • Faction: OoOML, Ulthwé

from what is quoted by Charlo, no,  as that rule (hovering) doesnt alter your battlefield role


  • Quixus likes this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users