Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Vigilus Detachments


  • Please log in to reply
97 replies to this topic

#76
MajorNese

MajorNese

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,158 posts

my main concern about servitors is that they fall like flees. super fragile. a simple weapon kill them all and they can easily targeted. So, is it worth?

Considering that the maximum number of servitors (with rule of 3) just costs 60p, I'd say it is worth the investment. Repair just one destroyer, and they pay back every point instantly.

 

Per rules, they can be targeted like everything else, but considering the theoretical range from target to servitors (36" kataphron weapons range, 6" from kataphron to dominus, 2" dominus base, 6" from dominus to servitors = 50"), only few weapons remain to take down the servitors, unless IG mortars or something similar are present in abundance. Threat management would be rather easy - have any other semi-useful infantry unit on the field, and those will be targeted instead. Remember - they're as resilient as skitarii (minus the 6++), just cheaper. There's worse for 5ppm out there (hello, kroot), and they can even serve as objective grabbers, deep strike blockers or CC speedbumps if necessary - better to entirely protect the kataphron from a threat, sacrificing the servitors, than getting one kataphron back later.

 

Also, the repair happens at the end of the movement phase - the servitors can stay back/behind cover, and only move into dominus range when a repair becomes necessary. And advance as part of that. And this edition's Mindlock rule doesn't prevent them from acting on a bad roll, meaning they can probably sit in cover/out of range, playing unappealing target, and run to the dominus when spare parts are requested.


gallery_6494_6331_8260.pnghhoth_majornesehts27.jpggallery_48988_11572_4635.pnggallery_48988_11572_4164.pngETL_2018_Medal_01_Custos_Fidei_01.gifgallery_48988_10069_1c2j5g.png


#77
Frostglaive

Frostglaive

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 249 posts
  • Location:Ohio
  • Faction: Adeptus Mechanicus

At 20pts minimum, I'd say Servitors are going to be an auto-include in my armies going forward, especially when I start bringing more Kataphrons. A 5pt model killing itself to bring back a Destroyer pays its entire squad's points back right then and there. They're cheap chaff to keep your Dominus warlord from getting charged for an extra turn (possibly). Easy objective grabber. And my favorite part: they aren't worth your opponent's firepower at all. They either ignore them and let them repair/revive Kataphrons, or they waste their firepower on them. Firepower that could be dedicated towards more important units (ex. Skitarii holding an objective, or Fulgurites about to charge).


  • Vel'Cona likes this

When life tries to knock you down, fight back and fight dirty. Aim for the throat and kick it while it's down.


#78
BolterZorro

BolterZorro

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 358 posts

ok ok ok time to kite bash then...

 

What's about cultists with some admech bits?


  • Xisor likes this

#79
Vel'Cona

Vel'Cona

    ++ DUCTOR EXSANGUIS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 5,800 posts
  • Location:Krumpin' distance!
  • Faction: WAAAGH!!!

They're not completely useless for punching things, either, so if your opponent ignores them they can throw in a few extra wounds easy.  As Frostglaive said, they're going to make their points back whether your opponent wastes time shooting them or not.  Perhaps best of all, the Elite slot tends to go naked in AdMech lists so Servitors are an obvious choice to fill it out on the cheap, perhaps to hold backfield objectives with HBs as well as healing your Kataphrons.


Seems like these models will never end!

ETL_2015_Banner_02_Custos_Fidei_02.jpgETL_2016_Banner_03_Custos_Fidei01.jpggallery_48988_10069_10495.pngETL_Medal_02.gifETL_2018_Medal_01_Custos_Fidei_01.gif


 


#80
Charlo

Charlo

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 19,620 posts

Unsure if it's been mentioned before, but saw this tasty little tactic that is downright BRUTAL and very unique to the Mechanicus....

 

 

take a unit of 4-6 Kastellan Robots in a Cybernetica Cohort detachment (1CP) can deep strike in 9" away using the Luscius stratagem (1CP), and then gain +3 to charge rolls (1CP) this turn making it a 6" charge. When they reach combat immediately change protocols using the Binharic Override stratagem (1CP) for double attacks. 

 

That is 6 S10 AP-3 3D attacks per bot, so even 4 bots would be dealing on average 8 of those to a Knight, who will be feeling the hurt after saves.

 

Costs 4CP and 420 points overall, but those bots will be very hard to deal with among the enemies lines.

 

Just a shame there are no buffs to make them hit better in the fight phase outside of the canticle to re-roll 1s!


  • Vel'Cona likes this

#81
DeStinyFiSh

DeStinyFiSh

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 720 posts

Unsure if it's been mentioned before, but saw this tasty little tactic that is downright BRUTAL and very unique to the Mechanicus....

 

 

take a unit of 4-6 Kastellan Robots in a Cybernetica Cohort detachment (1CP) can deep strike in 9" away using the Luscius stratagem (1CP), and then gain +3 to charge rolls (1CP) this turn making it a 6" charge. When they reach combat immediately change protocols using the Binharic Override stratagem (1CP) for double attacks. 

 

That is 6 S10 AP-3 3D attacks per bot, so even 4 bots would be dealing on average 8 of those to a Knight, who will be feeling the hurt after saves.

 

Costs 4CP and 420 points overall, but those bots will be very hard to deal with among the enemies lines.

 

Just a shame there are no buffs to make them hit better in the fight phase outside of the canticle to re-roll 1s!

 

You also need a Datasmith close to the Bots to use the Stratagem, but that is not a big deal. Relics are not that important for Ad Mech, so there is no problem handing the Solar Flare to a Datasmith and leave the Warlord without a Relic.

 

I like this combo a lot, I think my next Ad Mech game will be with Lucius for that reason. Also the bots are one of very few units that can use their flamer weapons after deep striking. Choose the reroll 1 in CC canticle at the beginning of your turn, kill something nasty and see what you opponent can throw at the bots to deal with them.



#82
Vel'Cona

Vel'Cona

    ++ DUCTOR EXSANGUIS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 5,800 posts
  • Location:Krumpin' distance!
  • Faction: WAAAGH!!!

That's awesome!  Now to budget another 4 Robots since all of my current Maniple are HPB spammers . . . wacko.png


Seems like these models will never end!

ETL_2015_Banner_02_Custos_Fidei_02.jpgETL_2016_Banner_03_Custos_Fidei01.jpggallery_48988_10069_10495.pngETL_Medal_02.gifETL_2018_Medal_01_Custos_Fidei_01.gif


 


#83
Charlo

Charlo

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 19,620 posts

That's awesome!  Now to budget another 4 Robots since all of my current Maniple are HPB spammers . . . wacko.png

 

I've got a load of 30k robots waiting to be built (purchased in the hope of Cyraxus...) and Dark Mech is so long away I'm considering at least magnetizing four to be fist/ flamers....



#84
DeStinyFiSh

DeStinyFiSh

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 720 posts

 

That's awesome!  Now to budget another 4 Robots since all of my current Maniple are HPB spammers . . . wacko.png

 

I've got a load of 30k robots waiting to be built (purchased in the hope of Cyraxus...) and Dark Mech is so long away I'm considering at least magnetizing four to be fist/ flamers....

 

 

3 Domitar here, they make amazing fist bot models imho !



#85
Charlo

Charlo

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 19,620 posts

 

 

That's awesome!  Now to budget another 4 Robots since all of my current Maniple are HPB spammers . . . wacko.png

 

I've got a load of 30k robots waiting to be built (purchased in the hope of Cyraxus...) and Dark Mech is so long away I'm considering at least magnetizing four to be fist/ flamers....

 

 

3 Domitar here, they make amazing fist bot models imho !

 

You know I might have some Domitar... I can't even remember what was in the job lot I bought off my mate. Great shout though!



#86
Prot

Prot

    ++ EQUES AEDITUUS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 13,413 posts

I have a quick/silly question for anyone about the Servitor Maniple (I think it's called). Does Cawl count/qualify as a Dominus for the purpose of using the Servitor for parts to repair/replace a Kataphron?


Click to see....
gallery_2760_14273_30255.jpg
Instagram: @Prot40k


#87
MajorNese

MajorNese

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,158 posts

No.

 

1. The Servitor Maniple stratagem specifies which units gets the keyword - it only includes TPD and enginseers (in terms of charaters). Only a character with that keyword can choose the WL trait for biosplicing (repair/replace), and Carl is not on the list.

 

2. The WL trait further only mentiones the WL having to be in range with the servitors - no other restriction, but anyone other than the WL just doesn't count for that rule.

 

3. Carl has a fixed WL trait. Even with the appropriate keyword, he couldn't change his trait to the servitor maniple one.


Edited by MajorNese, 13 January 2019 - 03:42 PM.

  • Prot likes this

gallery_6494_6331_8260.pnghhoth_majornesehts27.jpggallery_48988_11572_4635.pnggallery_48988_11572_4164.pngETL_2018_Medal_01_Custos_Fidei_01.gifgallery_48988_10069_1c2j5g.png


#88
Prot

Prot

    ++ EQUES AEDITUUS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 13,413 posts
Thanks for the response. I totally forgot about the Warlord trait. Thankfully I assumed Cawl didn’t count and have been doing it right but I notice it does mak using Cawl a little trickier and a touch redundant.

Click to see....
gallery_2760_14273_30255.jpg
Instagram: @Prot40k


#89
Charlo

Charlo

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 19,620 posts

Remember you can use the 1CP strat to give a different character a warlord trait without being a Warlord though, which is pretty useful in this case.


  • Prot likes this

#90
MajorNese

MajorNese

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,158 posts

Remember you can use the 1CP strat to give a different character a warlord trait without being a Warlord though, which is pretty useful in this case.

I guess you're mixing things up - imperial knights can do that, but AdMech can only hand out extra relics.


gallery_6494_6331_8260.pnghhoth_majornesehts27.jpggallery_48988_11572_4635.pnggallery_48988_11572_4164.pngETL_2018_Medal_01_Custos_Fidei_01.gifgallery_48988_10069_1c2j5g.png


#91
Charlo

Charlo

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 19,620 posts

 

Remember you can use the 1CP strat to give a different character a warlord trait without being a Warlord though, which is pretty useful in this case.

I guess you're mixing things up - imperial knights can do that, but AdMech can only hand out extra relics.

 

Nope, it's in the Vigilus rules... Field Commander (1 CP): For one command point, you can designate a character with a Specialist Detachment keyword and they gain the warlord trait associated with that detachment msn-wink.gif


  • Prot likes this

#92
MajorNese

MajorNese

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,158 posts

You're right - it's in the specialist detachment general rules, not in the servitor specialist detachment or codex rules. Yay, more fragmented rules...


gallery_6494_6331_8260.pnghhoth_majornesehts27.jpggallery_48988_11572_4635.pnggallery_48988_11572_4164.pngETL_2018_Medal_01_Custos_Fidei_01.gifgallery_48988_10069_1c2j5g.png


#93
Charlo

Charlo

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 19,620 posts

You're right - it's in the specialist detachment general rules, not in the servitor specialist detachment or codex rules. Yay, more fragmented rules...

Come on, its in the same book!


  • Emicus likes this

#94
MajorNese

MajorNese

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,158 posts

 

You're right - it's in the specialist detachment general rules, not in the servitor specialist detachment or codex rules. Yay, more fragmented rules...

Come on, its in the same book!

Between warzone rules and Smurfus Maximus, which might explain why no one mentioned it so far.

 

Nonetheless, it opens up quite a few options when using the specialist detachment. Maintain 9" Carl bubble, use necromechanic for proper knight repair or give guaranteed full heal to the resurrected servitor, or the usual CP shenanigans.


  • Charlo likes this

gallery_6494_6331_8260.pnghhoth_majornesehts27.jpggallery_48988_11572_4635.pnggallery_48988_11572_4164.pngETL_2018_Medal_01_Custos_Fidei_01.gifgallery_48988_10069_1c2j5g.png


#95
Vel'Cona

Vel'Cona

    ++ DUCTOR EXSANGUIS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 5,800 posts
  • Location:Krumpin' distance!
  • Faction: WAAAGH!!!

 

Between warzone rules and Smurfus Maximus, which might explain why no one mentioned it so far.

 

Something something RULES CREEP teehee.gif

 

History really does repeat itself, eh?


  • MajorNese likes this

Seems like these models will never end!

ETL_2015_Banner_02_Custos_Fidei_02.jpgETL_2016_Banner_03_Custos_Fidei01.jpggallery_48988_10069_10495.pngETL_Medal_02.gifETL_2018_Medal_01_Custos_Fidei_01.gif


 


#96
Prot

Prot

    ++ EQUES AEDITUUS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 13,413 posts

Remember you can use the 1CP strat to give a different character a warlord trait without being a Warlord though, which is pretty useful in this case.

 

That's what I was doing... I just forgot how I did it. lol

 

I think what happened is I made the list, played a few times and between bouncing around other armies, I just forgot how I got there. (Does this make any sense? Doubtful... but this is how I roll.)

 

Thanks for the clarity.


  • Charlo likes this

Click to see....
gallery_2760_14273_30255.jpg
Instagram: @Prot40k


#97
Prot

Prot

    ++ EQUES AEDITUUS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 13,413 posts
Update:

I ran out to GW and picked up another box of Destroyers and basically just assembled them for a game last night.

Basically, in a few words, I’d say going to six Destroyers is a must. Your strats go further and it’s very hard to remove six Destroyers. This is my new sweet spot for Destroyers. I won’t go with less than six. I lost half of them in turn one, and then another two in turn two. But of course I’m bringing them back. By turn 5 the squad was growing to near full size.

I have a few problems with this theme though.... it’s teally hard to balance the list. For as much as they were discounted, they still aren’t that cheap and of course they are VERY resource heavy to maximize.

I have another random matchup game tomorrow and for the first time in a long time, I’m not changing my list!
  • Charlo likes this

Click to see....
gallery_2760_14273_30255.jpg
Instagram: @Prot40k


#98
Mr. Funktastic

Mr. Funktastic

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 41 posts

I can second this, I rolled out 6 Ryza Plasma Destroyers and they took down a Leviathan Dreadnought in a single turn. They got focused down by 2 twin autocannon Venerable Dreadnoughts and Hurricane Bolters from 2 Dark Talons afterward till there was 1 Destroyer left, I brought 1 back my next turn and they both killed 6 Hellblasters. They definitely hit hard and anything they shooting is probably going to die so I can expect them to get focused down very early if your opponent knows how dangerous they are. Guess that's all the more reason to go all in on threat saturation and give them other juicy targets (Knights, Dragoons, Dunecrawlers, Kastelans, etc.).


Edited by Mr. Funktastic, 18 January 2019 - 04:10 AM.

  • Prot likes this




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users