New cheap gaming mats.

Morticon

Hey all. 

So, I'm wanting to make some cheap gaming mats for my club back home - between 10 and 20 of the things.  I've found a place that prints on a really durable material - and while its not as slick, smooth and squishy as the standard neoprene + cloth cover, it really is simple, long lasting and affordable. 

Thing is....how do i get designs to print?! 

Any ideas on what to do for this? 

Thanks! 

So, I'm wanting to make some cheap gaming mats for my club back home - between 10 and 20 of the things. I've found a place that prints on a really durable material - and while its not as slick, smooth and squishy as the standard neoprene + cloth cover, it really is simple, long lasting and affordable.

Hey Brother, thanks for asking, and I've some ideas/1st-hand experience related to this and would like to hear from others as well.

Long story short: awhile back I bought some very cheap gaming mats online. The material was basically like a very thin mousepad (the type you could fold in half or roll up). Then we looked at the "battleground" and we could tell it was basically photoshopped from several overhead images of dirt and rocks and grass, blurred together. It wasn't the most hi-res HD image...but that was actually fine because it's just supposed to be the background and not the focus, and was totally functional for its purpose.

Having seen that, I always wanted to make my own 40k ones, just never sat down and did it, so I gave it a try and here's my findings. It's not even a prototype, just a proof of concept:

gallery_57329_13636_473638.jpg

The image is actually in a 6:4 ratio, like a gaming table, 1728 x 1152 only BUT that's actually what it was like for our mat, and it's just background so doesn't/shouldn't be a sharp image. Took me about 20 minutes to do and actually writing this up will take more time I think. A quick explanation: