xLandaR's slow burn Titanicus log

xLandaR

Hello fellow Tiny Giant-Stompy-Robot enthusiasts!

Like many of you, when the Adeptus Titanicus models were first previewed, they immediately became some of my favorite models, and I knew from that moment that a legio of my own awaited me somewhere in the hopefully not to distant future. HOWEVER, a few things have delayed me from acquiring the models I so badly desired, first and foremost being that I am a broke-as-hell college student. But I have still managed to obtain a box of Questoris knights, as well as a pair of warhound titans that should be arriving in the next few days. To this end, I have made grand plans for currently non-existant Legio(s)!

THE PLANS:

Not one, but TWO separate legios have caught my eye, and due to a few quirks of their respective composition's, I plan on collecting both at the same time.

Legio Xestobiax, "The Iron Vigil":

Hailing from the forge world of Zhao-Arkhad, during the Horus Heresy, this relatively small Legion shared close ties with The Thousand Sons of Prospero, fighting alongside them against forces of House Malinax and Legio Mortis. Xestobiax remained neutral throughout the rest of the Horus Heresy, and they were pardoned at the conclusion of the conflict, ultimately remaining loyal to the Imperium. Due to the defensive nature of the Legio, Xestobiax fields few, if any, Warhounds, prefering the larger Reaver and Warlord class titans instead.

So why do I want to collect Xestobiax? First and foremost, I love their colour scheme. I believe the royal purple, combined with the with a singular white arm will let them stand out on any battlefield. I also like the concept of their "Black Iron" cores, experimental technology from reverse engineered eldar titans that allows the Legio's god engines to be faster and more deadly, while also lowering each titans crew count.

Finally, they don't use Warhound titans, which leads to my next Legion...

Legio Audax, "ember wolves":