What tokens does the game involve today?

apologist

I’m working on a Blood angels army. I want to spend some time and energy making it as ‘complete’ as possible, so I’ve started building some in-game tokens to mark battleshock tests, stratagem points remaining and so forth.

However, I’ll be the first to admit that I’m no expert on the modern game, so I wanted to ask the noosphere, What tokens, markers, and ‘ongoing effects’ am I going to need?

Here’s a starter; I hope it’s clear what I’m after:

• Casualty markers for Battleshock tests.

• Wrecked vehicle markers.

• Strategem point tracker.

• Turn marker.

• Wound markers.

• Psychic power markers (think AoS endless spells)

... that’s as far as I’ve got; anything else I need?

To be fair you could mark basically any action in the game. Even regular movement since it would mean for heavy weapons to hit worse. The question is how deep do you want to go and when is it too much? I'd concentrate on things that are actually hard to keep track of instead of just every action, like your mentioned CP, turn, wounds, psychic powers.

Coo, thanks for all the replies; lot of food for thought there. My main aim is to add to the visual appeal of the game; and secondly to help me remember things. Any thoughts on the following?

Casualty markers – these will be dead marines added next to the unit, to remind me to take a Battleshock test. I've worked up a couple of these already:
e.jpg

Vehicle damage markers – As Closet Skeleton pointed out, I don't need wrecks (though I think I'll have some because they'll look good), but some quick visual shorthand to show players what stage of degradation the vehicle is at would be useful. Perhaps smoke markers?

Stratagem point tracker – This is an important one. I don't want these things to distract too much, so it can't be too elaborate. I thought perhaps a framework that could hold a D12 or D20, attended by a Chapter serf or something...