Wrath & Glory - my first time GMing

Frostglaive

As the title suggests, I'm new to being a GM. Just picked up Wrath and Glory last week, and my buddies and I are interested in playing it. I'm working on a campaign at the moment (or at least coming up with a few ideas for now. Nothing concrete yet). But for now I want to try a few one-shots. Give my friends and I a chance at trying this game out and all, see how well I can GM and how they enjoy roleplaying and whatnot.

So ideally how things are gonna work is everything will be set on one planet (or maybe a small system). The one-shots I'm cooking up will both help get all of us into the game, and also help world-build a bit before the main campaign actually starts. And give me more time to finalize everything.

Rough draft idea, setting is on a Hive World. Couple AdMech forges thrown in for good measure, give the planet a bit more importance. Relatively peaceful, but there are signs of insurrection happening. Gangs, rebels, a few Chaos cults popping up... (which will be in the main campaign, not necessarily the one-shots). The idea with the one-shots is they would be Tier 1 or 2 characters (so Guardsmen, Sisters, Scions, etc.) that are garrisoned on the planet itself. They'd have their own missions. For instance: the first one-shot I have is a squad of Guardsmen or Scions being sent to an outpost that holds a rebel cell and they're being sent to take it out. Very combat focused. Another one I have is a group of Arbites being sent to investigate a factory in the underhive that's rumored to be corrupt, or something along those lines. 

Just a bunch of different little missions with essentially throw-away characters (unless they survive and I and the players can use them for later...) to get us into the game and the setting. But they'd all lead up to the start of the campaign.

First, what do you guys think? Is this a good idea? Scrap it entirely? Suggested improvements?