Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Question on pile in


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1
Hear da Lamentation

Hear da Lamentation

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 965 posts
  • Location:England
Our 6" pile in looks great on paper but I'm struggling a little with it. If your enemy charges a unit and you have a character within 6", if you pile in doesn't that just allow your opponent to attack the character first and ignore the original unit he charged? Seems like a sacrifice of your character - choosing to let your character get beaten on before you can attack.

Or is the enemy unit stuck having to fight the original unit they charged because they "declared" against that unit?

HDL

#2
Nadir

Nadir

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 844 posts
  • Location:Poland
  • Faction: Space Wolves
You can only fight with declared target of the charge. So if the character was out of the enemy's charge range he will be safe from the attacks.

gallery_17224_3068_108.gif

 

QUOTE
I'm not feel affronted by your response. But I have a hope, that you will burn in hell.

#3
Hear da Lamentation

Hear da Lamentation

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 965 posts
  • Location:England
Ok nice! That makes it more useable than I thought.

Thanks for answer

#4
PeteySödes

PeteySödes

    ++ FERRARII CONQUISITOR ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 2,144 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
Yea HI is usually not a great look for the enemy. I’ve actually been running a battle leader with a combi flamer to further complicate their situation. It’s been great fun watching faces twist decide what to do.

#5
Yoyo ninja

Yoyo ninja

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,027 posts
  • Location:Todmorden, near Manchester
  • Faction: Space Wolves
No enemy's have to make a charge to use heroic intervention. Your characters get a free move during their charge phase.
Signature non-compliant with forum rules
[sharedmedia=gallery:images:199314][sharedmedia=gallery:images:199315][sharedmedia=gallery:images:199316]

#6
Hear da Lamentation

Hear da Lamentation

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 965 posts
  • Location:England
FPS - I don’t follow the flamer point. They will already have charged so you won’t get overwatch will you?

Pistols .... would you get to shoot during the Intervention?

Finally, the free movement. Basically you get a 6” move as long as you end up closer to the enemy that before ... do people use this for repositioning?

HDL

#7
Nadir

Nadir

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 844 posts
  • Location:Poland
  • Faction: Space Wolves
Pistols and other weapons- you can not shoot during HI, nor your enemy.
Yes you can use HI for repositioning, but you have to end closer to the closest enemy.

gallery_17224_3068_108.gif

 

QUOTE
I'm not feel affronted by your response. But I have a hope, that you will burn in hell.

#8
Kallas

Kallas

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 935 posts
  • Location:Edinburgh, UK
  • Faction: Howling Griffons

I think FPS is saying that the Combi-Flamer makes it an awkward decision for the opponent. Do they:

  • not charge the WGBL, to avoid the Combi-Flamer overwatch, but then let him HI into them, or
  • charge the WGBL to avoid the HI, but get overwatched with the Combi-Flamer?

It seems alright, although personally I don't find Combi-Flamers to be exactly scary, even in overwatch.



#9
PeteySödes

PeteySödes

    ++ FERRARII CONQUISITOR ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 2,144 posts
  • Location:Minnesota

I think FPS is saying that the Combi-Flamer makes it an awkward decision for the opponent. Do they:

  • not charge the WGBL, to avoid the Combi-Flamer overwatch, but then let him HI into them, or
  • charge the WGBL to avoid the HI, but get overwatched with the Combi-Flamer?
It seems alright, although personally I don't find Combi-Flamers to be exactly scary, even in overwatch.

Yep that’s it, the OW peice is only one part of that build too tbf, I’m not advocating that as the end all be all build.
  • Kallas likes this

#10
Hear da Lamentation

Hear da Lamentation

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 965 posts
  • Location:England
Ok cool, thanks guys.
I’m thinking an IP with armour of Russ could be good here...

#11
One Two Wolf

One Two Wolf

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 62 posts
I didn't realise you can HI:

1. If you're not moving into combat
2. If noone has charged a unit near you.

So, is this HI during the opponents charge phase properly legit or just RAW? 6" could mean snagging an objective, guaranteeing a next turn charge, and I am sure that in my games if I rolled that out it would start a serious break for protest discussions (probably good natured, but still, y'know). So, how grey area, or not, is this? Forgive my ignorance.

Edited by One Two Wolf, 11 February 2019 - 08:09 AM.


#12
Kallas

Kallas

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 935 posts
  • Location:Edinburgh, UK
  • Faction: Howling Griffons
Yes, but you must end your HI move closer to the nearest enemy model. You can be 0.01" closer, but you couldn't move further away from whichever model is closest.

It's still super useful for slingshotting a character forward past that unit.

#13
Hear da Lamentation

Hear da Lamentation

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 965 posts
  • Location:England
Good for holding a combat character behind another and then HI them into combat leaving them to attack without being attacked back. Then when it’s your turn (if you’ve armour of Russ) your enemy goes last next round too.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users