my start into craftworlds

alanbezley

i played eldar back in 3rd edition

my friend got out of craftworlds and into tau (why i have no idea)

here is my list of minuatures so far and 95% are new

3. farseers

7. warlocks

2. spiritseerers

1. avatar of khaine

1 fuegan

1. maugan ra

3. guardian squads (1 platform with brightlance, and 2 platforms with shuriken cannons)

1. ranger squad

2 wraithguard squads with wraithcannons

3 vipers with shuriken cannon

3 warwalkers with twin brightlances each

1 wraithlord with ghostglaive and two starcannons

3 support platforms with d-cannons

2 5 man dark reaper squads

2 wave serpents (1 with twin brightlances, 1 with twin shuriken cannons)

1 hemlock wraith-fighter

1 wraith knight (magnitised for all weapon varients)

1 wraith knight with sun cannon

now i know that this is a NEWBish question but i am wondering what units i should look at next... i am going with the beil tan craftworld because i like the color scheme. i am a veteran player so i realize that what works well for other people might not work well for me, but i dont have allot of money to experiment with different troop types (have 8 kids) so any suggestions would be appreciated

I don’t see any dire avengers. Consider 1-2 units, the rest of your troops may be more rangers. I find one squad of rangers isn’t enough, and while I love the concept of dire avengers, they aren’t what they used to be.

I’m not a great player so take what I say appropriately. I find the psychic relic and extra health trait to be pretty good. I try to maximize my shuriken rerolls, so like infantry with those weapons. I’ve had mixed results using banshees to clear chaff and screens for other units to break through.

I suspect the best units of what you have will be reapers, farseers, and shining Spears. You probably have enough for 1,500 point friendly games that aren’t handicapped. After that, I think you should pick up what works best for you.

Edit: welcome to the site!