Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Reaction fire Zone mortalis


7 replies to this topic

#1
Nomadic Thunder

Nomadic Thunder

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 34 posts

Can cataphractii terminators reaction fire in zone mortalis?

 

Not trying to bend rules or anything, just wanting to get it clear.

Cataphractii terminators cannot overwatch.

Reaction firing replaces overwatch with a regular shooting attack after passing a leadership test.

Does this mean cataphractii (if passing leadership) can reaction fire as it is a different rule to overwatch?



#2
Gorgoff

Gorgoff

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,877 posts
  • Location:Germany, Osnabrueck
  • Faction: IVth Legion
"Can cataphractii terminators reaction fire in zone mortalis?"
No.

Edited by Gorgoff, 09 March 2019 - 02:21 PM.

Bring back Psycho Dad!
gallery_48988_10980_12646.png

#3
Nomadic Thunder

Nomadic Thunder

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 34 posts

I appreciate the answer but I'd appreciate an explanation rather than a one word response.

 

As far as I can see a reaction fire attack is a seperate attack/rule/mechanic to overwatch and explicitly states that overwatch may be made if reaction fire is unsuccessful, differentiating it even more...



#4
rendingon1+

rendingon1+

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,273 posts

My answear would be: yes. Rection fire rules is very clear that it is made instead of overwatch but does not count as overwatch. That's RAW of course...



#5
Slips

Slips

    ++ ARCHIMAGIRUS RUDIS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 13,670 posts
  • Location:Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • Faction: V,VII,IX,XII,XV Legions

I'd say that since it happens in stead of Overwatch, and that Cataphractii Terminators straight up cant Overwatch, then, since there is no Overwatch ability that the Cataphractii Terminators can replace with Reaction Fire (because they cant do it), then they cannot perform a Reaction fire.

 

But thats just me.

 

Also, check the FAQs, the answer might have been answered before.


  • Nomadic Thunder likes this

Posted ImagePosted Image Posted Image

++Part of the ship...Part of the Crew++

+] Use the Report Button! [+


#6
Gorgoff

Gorgoff

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,877 posts
  • Location:Germany, Osnabrueck
  • Faction: IVth Legion
I apologize for my 'wordy' answer.
In short I agree to Slips. I just may add that it isn't meantioned if it replaces Overwatch. It's more an upgrade for Overwatch. When you read it on page 172 im book one you know what I mean.
It's a better version of Overwatch and since they can't do that I see no reason why they should be allowed to do Reaction Fire.
Makes absolutely no sense RAI and ruleswise is shaky at best.
  • Nomadic Thunder likes this
Bring back Psycho Dad!
gallery_48988_10980_12646.png

#7
rendingon1+

rendingon1+

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,273 posts

Ok, I've just checked it again and my answear would be "unclear".

Earlier I've said reaction fire is made instead of overwatch but it's not how it's written in the rules.
 

Making a Reaction Fire Attack
 

A Reaction Fire attack is carried out exactly like an Overwatch attack except that the unit in question must first roll equal to or under its majority Initiative score on a D6. If successful, it may fire its weapons at the assaulting enemy with their full Ballistic Skill. If the test is unsuccessful, the unit may still make a normal Overwatch attack (i.e., snapshots at BS 1) instead.
A unit may not use the Counter Attack special rule if it has used Reaction Fire.

It depends on how "carried out exactly like an Overwatch attack" is interpreted. Is it just overwatch mechanics (casualities etc.) or does it also takes into account who can make overwatch (like going to ground earlier or just being shot by Primaris supressors teehee.gif ).

Only units not already engaged in close combat and not Falling Back may attempt Reaction Fire.

These appear to be to only Reaction Fire restrictions.

 

So I'm not sure RAW.

RAI however there is no doubt that cataphracts should not be able to do this, I agree.


  • Gorgoff and Nomadic Thunder like this

#8
Nomadic Thunder

Nomadic Thunder

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 34 posts

Yep, I'm on the same page with this i think.

Don't want to be too gamey and if a big lumbering suit of armour can't fire when charged normally it can't fire when a squad comes bursting through a door breach one would believe!!





Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users