Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Allarus Shield Captain/Vexillus Praetor stratagem


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1
necroscope

necroscope

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 86 posts
  • Location:Virginia, USA
  • Faction: Blood Angels, Custodes

I just want to know if an Allarus Shield Captain or Vexillus Praetor can use allarus specific stratagems like concussion grenade.  

The confusion for me is that they are in the Allarus armor but they lack the Allarus keyword.  



#2
Harrowmaster

Harrowmaster

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 725 posts
  • Faction: Alpha Legion, Imperial Guard

Depends on the wording of the stratagem, if Allarus is in bold it is a key word. If it says allarus terminators it refers to to unit by that name only. 


My (very slow) Alpha Legion blog for the Horus Heresy:

 http://www.bolterand...y-alpha-legion/

 

My (hopefully not any slower than the above) Imperial Guard blog:

http://www.bolterand...3rd-army-group/

 


#3
necroscope

necroscope

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 86 posts
  • Location:Virginia, USA
  • Faction: Blood Angels, Custodes

I'll use the Concussion Grenade stratagem as an example.  Without writing out the whole thing nothing is bolded and it specifies "when choosing a unit of Allarus Custodians".  But the rest of it is written as "their" so that kind of implies they mean a multiple unit of regular Allarus Terminators not a character.   Can "their" apply to a single person I'm embarrassed to say I don't remember off the top of my head.  


Edited by necroscope, 09 March 2019 - 03:46 PM.


#4
Harrowmaster

Harrowmaster

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 725 posts
  • Faction: Alpha Legion, Imperial Guard

If it specifies a unit of Allarus Custodians then the stratagem can only apply to them as the characters are not Allarus Custodians, the same way a space marine captain in terminator armour is not a space marine terminator.

 

On the other point, their can indicate possession for one or more people but it doesn't change the effect of the rule here. 


  • necroscope likes this

My (very slow) Alpha Legion blog for the Horus Heresy:

 http://www.bolterand...y-alpha-legion/

 

My (hopefully not any slower than the above) Imperial Guard blog:

http://www.bolterand...3rd-army-group/

 


#5
necroscope

necroscope

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 86 posts
  • Location:Virginia, USA
  • Faction: Blood Angels, Custodes

Damn I wanted it to be the other way so badly!  It's better to know though so thank you!  


  • Harrowmaster likes this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users