Just wondering if the rules guys have ever commented anywhere on why certain consuls aren't allowed various wargear? Most of them do make sense to me in terms of keeping it fluffy, i.e. a Master of Signals, who should probably stand relatively still and concentrate, can't take a Jetbike. This is fairly sensible in terms of battlefield practicality. However. I'm not quite sure of one in particular, and I was wondering if anyone else had run into this before.
I've recently bought a Vigilator, and I want to run him with my Seekers. He's a good synergistic fit with him also having special ammo, he grants the unit Scout, and he can soften up their target unit at the beginning of the game with Sabotage. All good points.
However, my Seekers all have Combi-Plasmas but my Vigilator can't get one due to his wargear restrictions.
I've been wracking my brain over this to see if I can figure out why it might be the case, but I can't get my head around it. I'm pretty sure it's not game breaking if he gets a single Plasma Gun shot once per game. In fact, I could give him a Plasma Pistol and he could have a load of them. Can anyone help me out with why it might be the case that Combi-weapons are so heinously forbidden?
Also, anyone run into any other weird combos like this?