Close Combat marine and Hellbrutes question

Furnace Lord

Do you find standard marines or Hellbrutes kitted for close combat effective? Any particular loadout you like or squad sizes for the marines, and do you think the Khorne fight again stratagem is worth the points on such units? I ask because I'm new to this edition and most marine and Hellbrutes I see in lists are geared for shooting.

Also I'm a Black Legion player, so no World Eaters shenanigans in my case.

Standard Marines a definite no(!) and Helbrutes only if they manage to fly under the radar because the opponent focusses on other units first.

Better use the fight again Stratagem on Possessed or Chosen ... or even better actual Berzerkers. There you get actual value from it. :wink:

You see most Marines geared for shooting because 40k is a very shooting heavy game and to be able to survive in such a world as a melee unit you have to be a really really awesome melee unit. Either be tough as nails (Marines are not), be many (Marines are not), be able to do a sick amount of damage with only few bodies remaining (Berzerkers can do that but usually it's the HQs who do it) or be able to do it before your opponent can deal with it (reliable charges out of deep strike like Blood Angels Jump Pack infantry can do via Stratagem for example).

No. The game's very shooty oriented, a melee unit needs to be something special to make a place for itself. Something more specialized than just a generalist platform that happens to take some melee weapons. Berserkers, for instance, are good enough to be worthwhile as a dedicated melee unit. Even then delivery can be a bother, but at least if you do manage to tag an enemy unit in close combat they can get some work done. Greater possessed look decent as a character version of a melee beatstick, being fast and points efficient.