We have come for you..... A return to darkness (and pics)

The new Chaos Marine range has caused me to succumb to the lure of Chaos once more, the new ‘upscaling’ of the range appeals to me, giving the marine the ‘bulk’ they should have. The overall aesthetics too have impressed me too, I was initially concerned they might go down the Dark Vengeance chosen look and have a little too much organic piping and tentacles for my liking – fortunately not! I can share the frustration of many in the community bemoaning the lack of a true multipart kit – however I really do enjoy converting and have had a lot of fun with ‘heresy-ifying’ the Death Guard kit, so I’m up for the challenge of kitbashing the new range! I am a veteran of metal minis so cutting up plastic or resin really is a walk in the park! You younglings don’t know you are born……

My main interest in 40k is and always has been the Horus Heresy and running the Chaos Marines as Legion based forces – I can still hark back to the days of the 2nd edition Codex where the traitor legions got a little more background and a more defined look! Indeed I still have my copy of this mighty tome and intend to go a little ‘retro’ with this project. To that end I will hark back to what originally tempted me back into the hobby – The Night Lords. I think I’ve finally got the ability to paint the lightning that my poor 12yr old self didn’t have! I really think the new range suits the ‘scavenged’ and under resourced look of the legion as described in the ADB Night Lord trilogy! However, I shall attempt to merge them with the heresy range to create a force that can fit into both 30k and 40k systems. The new range is a little chaosy but I think the skulls and demon faces can fit into the ‘fear’ factor of the legion – that and I’ll scrape off the worst of the teeth/mutations/chaos stars.