Vermintide's Blood Drinkers- The Soul Reavers

Vermintide

Hello Sons of Sanguinius! I'm a newbie poster, though I have been lurking a little while. This will be one of those painting/blogging threads about my dudes, and what I've been working on, providing people are interested of course.

I got back into the hobby a little over a year ago, after a long break. Like many of you I got into 40k when I was a kid, and pretty much abandoned it throughout my teens and 20s. Yet somewhere in the back of my mind there was always an ambition to get back onboard. By sheer coincidence I ended up painting Blood Drinkers- I'd decided on the colour scheme long before I realised they were an "official" chapter. This was how I set up my guy in the Space Marine video game, where you could customise your armour in multiplayer :biggrin.: By a happy accident, however, their fluff suits me perfectly, so here we are!

What I'm aiming for with these guys is to make them reminiscent of how an old school Blood Angels army would have looked. I think GW went a little OTT with the whole zealous crusader-knight thing for a few years- I preferred it when that was a much more subtle undertone. I wanted to go for the classic Marine vibe, but bring it up to date with the newer models. I love the Primaris minis, I think seeing those is what really made me dive back into 40k- Their fluff is another matter, though, so I'm thoroughly hand waving that in my personal head-canon :wink:

My work so far: (Pictures in following post)

I & II Scout Squad

The scout korps. These are amongst the oldest models I own, stripping them down and re-painting them was a very zen experience.

III Intercessor Squad

IV Intercessor Squad