Contrast Paints and Baby Blue Space Wolves

sbarnby71

I will freely admit to finding painting the armour of my SW dull, dull, dull.  I know that when I have half an hour to spare to paint I look at the armour plates and think, I might just build another model instead.

Then Contrast paints come along and I think maybe all the hundreds of models I built (instead of painting the armour on the model sat on my desk) could finally get worked on.  Now from the word go GW will say SW will need this paint to achieve Space Wolves Grey (the Fang with some highlights), well I don't paint that way, the main armour plates for me are the light Baby Blue a few people hate, but I don't care I've been painting SW for 20+ years and I like the colour:

Battle Leader 2 30

So why this thread?  I want to hear from anyone who might have had a chance to use the paints and might even share my love of the most Brutal Loyal Chapter being painted in the colours of the baby-grow you'd place on a new born boy.  To you I say, how are you gonna do it????

From what I read on reddit, it seems the new contrast paint is much more neutral grey toned and less blue toned. Think they said it was the 3rd or 4th darkest color.

Here is a good picture of space wolf grey in bottom right.

https://2.bp.blogspot.com/-iMGUJv9-Vxs/XNhx-n4CP7I/AAAAAAAAVLU/5RVpUkvCwFw4ns3RJDEHWwTiJ7lF6YazQCKgBGAs/s1600/IMG_20190512_151003.jpg

If you want baby blue you are going to have to find a different color like talassar blue (mixed with some medium to tone down the blue strength) in upper left here.

https://3.bp.blogspot.com/-BgxzDNpeLU0/XNhx-kgHLFI/AAAAAAAAVLU/5iGYf1avxe4ZFrARu_96RIbcQGITWCgKgCKgBGAs/s1600/IMG_20190512_150956.jpg

Edited by Jarl Caldersson