My 541st Cadian Mechanized Regiment

Banjohero

Hello, heres my Cadians. Haven't decided on a name/regiment yet, so any suggestions would be nice! Probably just gonna find a random number hehe.

These are my first models, and I'm pretty new to the hobby as of yet. I'm planning on expanding my force, but still deciding on what I want.

I've been "struggling" with my colour scheme for a long time, being unable to choose. I originally went with blue and white, going for a winter-theme. The white ended up being super annoying, so I switched to doing the the standard cadian green and tan. It didn't really sit well with me though, as I wanted something more "realistic" or WW2-themed kinda. I tried some green on green, and different styles, but it always ended up being too boring and dark. I finally ended up doing them with green armor and a tan/green/brown camp pattern on the fatigues. Very similar to the standard cadians (and I only need to paint camo on my other guys haha).

My force for now is a Start Collecting box, a sentinel, an extra heavy weapons team and a few extra guardsmen. I also have a box of skitari rangers and space marines from the dark imperium set.

I want to end up with a mixed force, where my skitari and some marines are supporting my guard. Something along the lines of an expedition or crusade. I never played any games yet, and I don't really know the rules that well (I have read the book, but...). I'm really struggling with making an army list/setup, and deciding on how to build my guardsmen.

I would love some suggestion on how to expand/make this into a real list. I'm not looking to be super-competitive but not a walkover either.

So far I have:

25x Guardsmen
2x HWT - Mortar + Lascannon
Leman Russ
Sentinel

I would like some more tanks, artillery and infantry. I don't really want Scions or bullgryns, as I don't really like how they look. I'm thinking of doing some home-made Scions and/or bullgryns eventually.