Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Delegatus command squad


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1
noigrim

noigrim

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,163 posts
  • Location:Metalica Subsector
  • Faction: Marines , Custodes, Guard, IK

Can a delegatus take command squad?


Sense%2Bt%C3%ADtol%2B(2).pngUntitled-1.jpgsml_gallery_29004_10691_5192.pnggallery_48988_15151_1303.pnggallery_48988_16045_6601.pngETL_Medal_03.gifL_T_3_2017_Badge_02_Chaplain.jpggallery_48988_15465_10777.pngsml_gallery_48988_16053_22349.png


#2
Unknown Legionnaire

Unknown Legionnaire

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 772 posts
  • Location:Maze Undue
  • Faction: XXth Legion & Cult Allies

Yes.


  • noigrim likes this

Smile like Dynat when you're winning !


#3
rendingon1+

rendingon1+

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,415 posts

Can a delegatus take command squad?

Always should :)



#4
Gorgoff

Gorgoff

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,104 posts
  • Location:Germany, Osnabrueck
  • Faction: IVth Legion


Can a delegatus take command squad?

Always should :)
Nah.
Only if you play ZM.
Bring back Psycho Dad!
gallery_48988_10980_12646.png

#5
rendingon1+

rendingon1+

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,415 posts

Why not? It's very point efficient cc unit either in termie or jp. I always take one, it works pretty good even on itself.



#6
Gorgoff

Gorgoff

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,104 posts
  • Location:Germany, Osnabrueck
  • Faction: IVth Legion

Why not? It's very point efficient cc unit either in termie or jp. I always take one, it works pretty good even on itself.

It's worth depends on the legion you play. I wouldn't have a place for them in my IW army.
Bring back Psycho Dad!
gallery_48988_10980_12646.png

#7
rendingon1+

rendingon1+

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,415 posts

 

Why not? It's very point efficient cc unit either in termie or jp. I always take one, it works pretty good even on itself.

It's worth depends on the legion you play. I wouldn't have a place for them in my IW army.

 

But why though? Even terminators?

-  free slot

- WS5

- +1W on one dude who also makes squad fearless

- annoying chosen warrior shenanigans

- only 5pts more than a termie squad ;)



#8
Gorgoff

Gorgoff

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,104 posts
  • Location:Germany, Osnabrueck
  • Faction: IVth Legion


Why not? It's very point efficient cc unit either in termie or jp. I always take one, it works pretty good even on itself.

It's worth depends on the legion you play. I wouldn't have a place for them in my IW army.
But why though? Even terminators?
- free slot
- WS5
- +1W on one dude who also makes squad fearless
- annoying chosen warrior shenanigans
- only 5pts more than a termie squad ;)
When my opponent reaches my lines I already screwed up, that's why. B)

Edited by Gorgoff, 10 July 2019 - 03:45 AM.

Bring back Psycho Dad!
gallery_48988_10980_12646.png

#9
noigrim

noigrim

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,163 posts
  • Location:Metalica Subsector
  • Faction: Marines , Custodes, Guard, IK
Then I hope you don't have to face off vs daemons
  • Sparkiered likes this

Sense%2Bt%C3%ADtol%2B(2).pngUntitled-1.jpgsml_gallery_29004_10691_5192.pnggallery_48988_15151_1303.pnggallery_48988_16045_6601.pngETL_Medal_03.gifL_T_3_2017_Badge_02_Chaplain.jpggallery_48988_15465_10777.pngsml_gallery_48988_16053_22349.png


#10
Unknown Legionnaire

Unknown Legionnaire

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 772 posts
  • Location:Maze Undue
  • Faction: XXth Legion & Cult Allies

It all depends on the match-up, the mission, and most of tall the Legion you're playing. 

 

For some Legions (and in combo with certain RoW on top of that) Command Squads are innately awesome.

 

But a retinue isn't a retinue, and depending on the task you have in mind for them, a highly-customisable Vet Tac squad or even a Seeker squad (or a Legion specific variant !)  might work better to supplement your HQ and / or you list / strategy. 

 

And, let's not forget, Command Squads are non-scoring (except for UM).


Smile like Dynat when you're winning !


#11
rendingon1+

rendingon1+

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,415 posts

They are cc unit mainly, and I agree they are largely list/playstyle dependant. However any legion without dedicated cc unit just can't go wrong with command squad, that's it msn-wink.gif

 

Gorgoff, you have pure shooty list? I don't quite understand what you mean. Do you always Ironfire? :D


Edited by rendingon1+, 10 July 2019 - 06:44 PM.


#12
Gorgoff

Gorgoff

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,104 posts
  • Location:Germany, Osnabrueck
  • Faction: IVth Legion

Then I hope you don't have to face off vs daemons

Had one game so far and it was a desaster. His psychic bombardement plus crazy toughness was too much for my dudes. But I don't think that five terminators would make any difference to be honest. More so a Nullificator.
And way more firepower.
Next time I bring Phosphex.
Bring back Psycho Dad!
gallery_48988_10980_12646.png

#13
rendingon1+

rendingon1+

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,415 posts

Offtop but:

Did you tailor your list vs demons? I'm about to play a battle vs ruinstorm on friday (DA, probably RW) but can you share your experience? PLEASE?! smile.pngOh, and did you takeany psyrelics?


Edited by rendingon1+, 10 July 2019 - 08:14 PM.


#14
Gorgoff

Gorgoff

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,104 posts
  • Location:Germany, Osnabrueck
  • Faction: IVth Legion

Offtop but:
Did you tailor your list vs demons? I'm about to play a battle vs ruinstorm on friday (DA, probably RW) but can you share your experience? PLEASE?! smile.pngOh, and did you takeany psyrelics?

I played twice.
First game was with my new Militia, which was a massacre. I was done in turn two.

But lessons where learned.
He cannot put the warp rifts in 12" to one another, 6" to a table edge and in 12" to a mission marker. Try to capitalize on that fact.

Game two was with my IW and I tried to tailpr my list a little bit but it wasn't very successful either. Contemptors are very good if they manage to reach CC. But you have to have some sort of anti air because of the flying MC. Those will fly around and shoot walkers to pieces with S9 armour bane in the first rounds.
Obviously every gun which has fleshbane or is poisened is very good because troops with T5 and two wounds are VERY hard to kill. If your opponent takes psychic daemons a Nullificator makes sense because he'll protect at least one unit against those powers.
Some kind of CC counters should come in handy too
  • rendingon1+ likes this
Bring back Psycho Dad!
gallery_48988_10980_12646.png

#15
noigrim

noigrim

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,163 posts
  • Location:Metalica Subsector
  • Faction: Marines , Custodes, Guard, IK
Played today with custodes and adrathic plus crossbows ruined their day
  • Imren and Gorgoff like this

Sense%2Bt%C3%ADtol%2B(2).pngUntitled-1.jpgsml_gallery_29004_10691_5192.pnggallery_48988_15151_1303.pnggallery_48988_16045_6601.pngETL_Medal_03.gifL_T_3_2017_Badge_02_Chaplain.jpggallery_48988_15465_10777.pngsml_gallery_48988_16053_22349.png


#16
ALIENAGENUS_Drekkan_FALSUS

ALIENAGENUS_Drekkan_FALSUS
  • ALENAGENUS

 

T5 and two wounds are VERY hard to kill.

 

 

Hello vindicator my old friend


  • Lord Raven 19 likes this

#17
noigrim

noigrim

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,163 posts
  • Location:Metalica Subsector
  • Faction: Marines , Custodes, Guard, IK
Yhe fact that they come piecemeal and can't charge allows you to concentrate fire each turn

Sense%2Bt%C3%ADtol%2B(2).pngUntitled-1.jpgsml_gallery_29004_10691_5192.pnggallery_48988_15151_1303.pnggallery_48988_16045_6601.pngETL_Medal_03.gifL_T_3_2017_Badge_02_Chaplain.jpggallery_48988_15465_10777.pngsml_gallery_48988_16053_22349.png


#18
Gorgoff

Gorgoff

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,104 posts
  • Location:Germany, Osnabrueck
  • Faction: IVth Legion




T5 and two wounds are VERY hard to kill.


Hello vindicator my old friend
Has to be in 24" and can be killed rather quickly by flying MC. In my game he killed four lesser demons before he died.
Bring back Psycho Dad!
gallery_48988_10980_12646.png

#19
The Ironic Warrior

The Ironic Warrior

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 197 posts
  • Location:London
  • Faction: IV, XVI, Daemons, Necrons

FAQ'd so Delegatus can no longer take a Command Squad *single tear*


Check out my Facebook page Ironic Warriors to see my progress through the endless waves of hobbying and mischief...

Join our Discord server for discussion, to show off your latest painted minis or generally to chat about Heresy and Hobbying alike...


#20
Unknown Legionnaire

Unknown Legionnaire

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 772 posts
  • Location:Maze Undue
  • Faction: XXth Legion & Cult Allies

FAQ'd so Delegatus can no longer take a Command Squad *single tear*

 

 

Yeah ? When did that happen ? Got a link ?


Smile like Dynat when you're winning !


#21
rendingon1+

rendingon1+

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,415 posts
A single Legion Command Squad may be chosen as a retinue for a Legion Praetor, Primarch, or Legion special character with the Master of the Legion special rule which is also your Army’s Warlord. They may not be taken as part of an army on their own, instead sharing a Force Organisation chart choice with the Warlord they are selected for, nor do they add to the points of a Primarch when determining Lords of War and the 25% rule.

"new" f&q.

#22
Inquisitor Verhek

Inquisitor Verhek

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 21 posts

FAQ'd so Delegatus can no longer take a Command Squad *single tear*


Delegatus DOES have master of the legion and specifically states he may take a command squad.

Edited by Inquisitor Verhek, 11 December 2019 - 10:17 PM.


#23
The Ironic Warrior

The Ironic Warrior

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 197 posts
  • Location:London
  • Faction: IV, XVI, Daemons, Necrons

However in the FAQ it says that a Command Squad can only be taken by a Praetor, Primarch or named character with the Master of the Legion special rule. None of those are a Delegatus sadly.


Check out my Facebook page Ironic Warriors to see my progress through the endless waves of hobbying and mischief...

Join our Discord server for discussion, to show off your latest painted minis or generally to chat about Heresy and Hobbying alike...


#24
Inquisitor Verhek

Inquisitor Verhek

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 21 posts
The FAQ only updates the entry for command squad. And that's more for the fact it adds the primarchs and special characters to those available to take them.
The fact that the delegateus entry specifically states he may take a command squad allows him to take one. It's part and parcel of the character itself. The full weight of the legion's authority, without official rank.
And it actually states legion special characters with MotL, not named. Look at him as a special character, that does have MotL and a specific rule allowing command squads. Not a named special character, but special in the fact he is an upgraded centurion that is allowed to take a command squad.

Edited by Inquisitor Verhek, 12 December 2019 - 09:20 PM.


#25
The Ironic Warrior

The Ironic Warrior

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 197 posts
  • Location:London
  • Faction: IV, XVI, Daemons, Necrons
"A single Legion Command Squad may be chosen as a retinue for a Legion Praetor, Primarch or Legion special character with the Master of the Legion special rule which is also your Army's Warlord. They may not be taken as part of an army on their own, instead sharing a Force Organisation chart choice with the Warlord they are selected for, nor do they add to the points of a Primarch when determining Lords of War and the 25% rule".

TBH, it could be read either way - I am very confident it is not abe to cover Delegatus', but I guess we will have to wait for FW to clarify that one. In the meantime I'd say run them but be prepared for them to lose access to it in the worst case. Best case we get the rules fixed that are messy such as Rite of Command because that is messy.

Also, saying a Delegatus is a special character is mega-stretching. You know exactly what a special character is, a Delegatus is not one of them, he is a generic bog-standard character like the rest of the Consuls. Special in this instance clearly means someone like Maloghurst or Remus, who are named special characters with Master of the Legion.

Edited by Slips, 12 December 2019 - 10:26 PM.

  • Inquisitor Verhek likes this

Check out my Facebook page Ironic Warriors to see my progress through the endless waves of hobbying and mischief...

Join our Discord server for discussion, to show off your latest painted minis or generally to chat about Heresy and Hobbying alike...





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users