Chaos Space Marines and Apocalypse

I've got a game under my belt now and had a good look through the Warhammer 40k Apocalypse rules specifically from a Chaos Space Marine perspective. I didn't play with Death Guard, Thousand Sons, R&H or Daemons so I'm not including them in this.  I'm going to go through some general stuff then go into specific units that I have encountered, so on that note, I'm not going into units I have zero experience of.

Characters lack survivability.

So this caught me off guard, I was expecting like 40k my characters would be good in their own right, however they are generally weak (save the Lord Discordant which is a vehicle really). The Apoc rules for targeting characters as they stand mean that they are very easy to snipe out, particularly with barrage characters. My Warmaster was killed on the first turn by sniping Basilisks.

Legion traits are rolled into Command assets. I don't really see any duds in there. I used the Iron Warriors traits which TBH are better than the 40k equivalents (Iron Within, Iron Without gives a 5+ extra save against damage, like Feel no pain, and Siege Lords allows your army to target 1 building or units in 1 defensible position with SAT or SAP, meaning that your Lascannons for one turn are better than killing garrisoned infantry than your chaincanons).

Don't expect a "Fire twice" or other things that are the mainstay of Chaos at 40k. Chaos functions similarly in Apoc, but not the same.

MSU is not very good, having one wound is a good way to die, bigger units to do damage are better, as there are ways to heal damage (Nurgle marked units have a command asset to regain wounds, then their is a general "regain D3 Wounds" asset).

Daemon Shell command asset is great, it's just nasty. 

The Heretic Astartes innate ability is re-rolling 1's on wounding, one D12's. This sounds mediocre, but I actually quite rate it, as that frustrating 1 is eliminated.

Unit Specifics

HQ's