Angels and Ghosts

Isghamor

Hi everyone, I am fairly new to writing. Hope you'll enjoy and every critic/ advice is more than welcome.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The towers in front of him stretched towards the snowy sky framing a bulky wall with a gate carved in its mid. Azriel, sergeant of the Blood Angels, looked back at his unit. Three brothers; less than half of what he landed with. They have gone through mines, traps, ambushes and who knows what else this planet will throw against them. For weeks they hunted ghosts, every step plagued by the thought they were just dancing to their music. A new track or lead would fall into their lap at the exact time they were thinking of turning back. They were the angels of the Emperor, though. Failing wasn’t a luxury they could afford. Be it a trap or not it was still the only way they had to fulfil their mission. Azriel picked the banner from the top of his reactor and extended the pole, planting it into the ground. The fabric danced in the winds of the blizzard. He looked at the winged blood tear painted on it and spared a though for the man who used to carry it, Gabriel.

“Brothers, look at this banner. Look at how it struggles against this fiery wind. Did you think it will break? No. This is what we are. No matter what they throw against us we shall not break.” He unsheathed his power-sword and pistol shouting "For the Emperor and Sanguinius!” as he set on his way through the fortress’ doors.

“Death” chorused his brothers falling in formation behind him.

The electro candles cast a diffuse light on the stone walls. The smell of incense and paints filled the air. From a piece of cloth laid on a stand, a banner was taking shape under the expert hands of it’s maker. He felt a breeze on the back of his head.

Yes?” he didn’t turned

Do you think this will be ‘the one’”