Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Tactical Restraint, clarifying what it retrains


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1
chapter master 454

chapter master 454

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,723 posts
  • Location:Fife
  • Faction: Angels of Justice

So the rule was made because people ran around with with warlord traits and relics that just refunded CP off of stratagem use however I never really caught if it restricted CP generation from abilities (since we didn't have those) like the new psychic powers.

 

So the example would be (and lets be nutty):

 

We have our Ultramarine player. He has a Phobos librarian with the obsure power of mind raid, a librarian with scryer's gaze, one of them is the warlord with adept of the codex and a vindicare assassin all primed and ready. He has managed to corner the enemy warlord and will now perform a series of powers to gain CP and end the warlords life. He uses Scryer's Gaze, gains 1CP. He then uses mind raid to hit the enemy warlord and succeeds and gaining another CP (now at 2). He then has the vindicare fire and kill the warlord, activating the assassin stratagem to gain CP (so now another +2 because 1 to use the stratagem but +3 from killing the warlords, total gain so far +4) and then finally the adept of the codex triggers and using some loaded dice gets 5 and is refunded the CP for a total of 5CP returned (before being punted out of the tournament for cheating).

 

Would that be correct to be able to gain 5CP in one round or does the tactical restraint actually throttle it? (so would the total gain only be something like 3?)


I Chapter Master 454, Chapter Master of the Angels of Justice, Warboss of WAAAGH Gubskul, Commander of a Catachan Regiment, Phaeron of a Tomb World, Shas'O to a Cadre and Princeps of a lance of House Taranis hereby pledge that I will not take up any further models til all other prior have been fully built and painted to tabletop standards. There is no time limit for this task, there is no deadline. My oath is to solemnly complete the armies I have now, to see it that they can have their glory. Paint will be stripped from the old in need, thick may it be like ceramite I will see it removed so that plastic and metal alike may see light of new paint. Models yet to be, boxed and in darkness will be assembled with due care and attention. For this task I am permitted to still buy the supplies needed to do my task but not one model more.

http://www.bolterand...one-model-more/ the thread to my oath. My own reminder.

http://www.bolterand...rk-in-progress/ my own chapter
"The objective of playing a game is to win. The point of playing a game is to have fun. Never confuse the two"

 

 

 


#2
Closet Skeleton

Closet Skeleton

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,013 posts
  • Location:Hertfordshire
  • Faction: Black Templars

Tactical restraint explicitly doesn't affect stratagems with Feeder Tendrils being the main example on the FAQ release.

 

 

There are several Warlord Traits, Relics, psychic powers and abilities that give you a chance to gain or refund Command Points. Each player can only gain or have refunded a total of 1 Command Point per battle round as the result of such rules, regardless of the source, and Command Points that are spent on Stratagems that are not used during a battle round, such as those that are used ‘before the battle’, can never be refunded.The limit of gaining or refunding 1 Command Point per battle round does not apply to the Moment Shackle or the Seven-fold Chant abilities, or to or the Player of the Twilight Warlord Trait – in these cases, the ability/Warlord Trait can refund or gain the player more than 1 Command Point if the Stratagem used cost 2 or more Command Points to use, but once any Command Points have been gained as a result of the rule, neither it, nor any similar rule, can be used to gain any more Command Points until the next battle round. Also note that this does not apply to Command Points that are gained or refunded as specifically instructed on Stratagems (e.g. Feeder Tendrils and Agents of Vect).

 

Psychic powers aren't excepted so they won't stack. So you can get 3 from the assassin stratagem and then 1 from either Scyrer's Gaze, Mind Raid or Adept of the Codex.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users