Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Latest Smite Rules for T-Sons?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1
Byrd

Byrd

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 9 posts

Hi guys,

 

I play T-Sons non-competitively, and it seems like no one really knows what the latest rules for Smite are, or where to find them. Some opponents are happy to play with the Codex rules, some with the April 2018 Big FAQ update, and someone told me that there has been an update to Smite since then, but couldn't find it.

 

Some opponents say that T-Sons are still affected by the cumulative +1 to cast for characters, even when Battle-forged. Others say that Battle-forged T-Sons aren't affected by the +1 to cast Smite.

 

I am confused and just want to play the most up-to-date rule. Does anyone know what it is and where to find it?

 

Thanks!



#2
The Blood Raven

The Blood Raven

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,003 posts
  • Location:55408
  • Faction: Tau Empire
Did you check Chapter Approved 2018, page 47 “Psychic Focus”?

#3
Closet Skeleton

Closet Skeleton

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,028 posts
  • Location:Hertfordshire
  • Faction: Black Templars

Battle forged is irrelevant, all matched play armies are battle forged so that term only matters for open play.

 

Its the Brotherhood of Sorcerers that gets round the smite rule according to Chapter Approved 2018 which is a legion trait so requires an extra layer on top of Battle Forged (a mixed Tzeentch or Heretic astartes detachment is still a legal battle forged detachment).


Edited by Closet Skeleton, 09 September 2019 - 05:45 PM.

  • The Blood Raven, Dolchiate Remembrancer and Quixus like this

#4
Byrd

Byrd

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 9 posts

So, Smite hasn't been updated since the Psychic Focus rule in 2018?

 

Okay, so am I correct in thinking that a battle-forged T-Sons battalion won't have any penalties to its Smite?



#5
Skerr

Skerr

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 737 posts
Correct

#6
Raven1

Raven1

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,744 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas, NV

So, Smite hasn't been updated since the Psychic Focus rule in 2018?

Okay, so am I correct in thinking that a battle-forged T-Sons battalion won't have any penalties to its Smite?


That's not entirely accurate. TS Psykers ignore the penalty but it still stacks. So if you have non-TS psykers in an allied detachment they need to cast smite first. If you have say a Changecaster and Ahriman and Ahriman casts smite and then the Changecaster casts smite he has to deal with the negative modifier, but if the Changecaster goes first the the cast has no modifier and Ahriman can ignore it.
  • Dolchiate Remembrancer likes this

gallery_33260_13323_10404.pnggallery_33260_13323_11012.pngETL_VI_Banner_03_Custos_Fidei_02_.jpgETL_VI_Badge_Forum_Champion_Chaos_DemonsETL_Medal_01.gif


#7
Dolchiate Remembrancer

Dolchiate Remembrancer

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,522 posts
  • Location:Montreal, Qc, Canada
  • Faction: CSoV, TSons
Correct me if I'm wrong but this only applies to brotherhood of sorcerers. So aspiring sorcerers would also suffer the negative penalty.

Segmentum Ultima::Dolchiate Sector ++Tales of Warfare in a Sector of the 41st Millennium++
IA: Crimson Sons of Vengeance(BA Successor) ++ IT: Thrallband Tusmah(TS Thrallband)

  ETL_Medal_03.gif ETL_Medal_04.gif  gallery_29004_10383_212.pnggallery_62972_10568_30745.jpggallery_48988_10069_9408.pnghPRn0FW.pnggallery_48988_13169_15439.png


#8
Tyriks

Tyriks

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,940 posts
  • Location:Ohio

Correct me if I'm wrong but this only applies to brotherhood of sorcerers. So aspiring sorcerers would also suffer the negative penalty.


No, all TS Psykers get Brotherhood of Sorcerers.

#9
Byrd

Byrd

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 9 posts

Thanks for the all the input.

 

Just to add a bit more confusion...the way it was previously explained to me, was that Aspiring Sorcs didn't have the +1 to their Smite cast, but characters did. He couldn't find the rule, but insisted it was true, so I played a couple of games with that rule, but I could never find it myself.

 

So, thanks again for clearing it up.



#10
Raven1

Raven1

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,744 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas, NV

Correct me if I'm wrong but this only applies to brotherhood of sorcerers. So aspiring sorcerers would also suffer the negative penalty.


Again yes and no. "Brotherhood of Sorcerers" applies to PSYKERS in a THOUSAND SONS detachment. Rubric Marines have the PSYKER keyword, so they ignore the penalty as well.
  • Dolchiate Remembrancer likes this

gallery_33260_13323_10404.pnggallery_33260_13323_11012.pngETL_VI_Banner_03_Custos_Fidei_02_.jpgETL_VI_Badge_Forum_Champion_Chaos_DemonsETL_Medal_01.gif


#11
Skerr

Skerr

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 737 posts

Thanks for the all the input.

Just to add a bit more confusion...the way it was previously explained to me, was that Aspiring Sorcs didn't have the +1 to their Smite cast, but characters did. He couldn't find the rule, but insisted it was true, so I played a couple of games with that rule, but I could never find it myself.

So, thanks again for clearing it up.


He is likely confusing the fact that Aspiring Sorcerers and SOT sorcerers get mini smite instead of full frontal smite.

Aspiring and SOT sorcerers are covered by the brotherhood of psychers rule so no penalty.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users