Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Dreadnought Character (stratagem) interactions

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
67 replies to this topic

#26
radionausea

radionausea

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 284 posts
  • Location:London
  • Faction: Nurgle, Ministorum
Vehicles can't take relics.
  • Kallas likes this

#27
Marshal Valkenhayn

Marshal Valkenhayn

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 424 posts
  • Location:Oklahoma
  • Faction: Daemons Of Khorne

Assuming you're willing to use Primaris, the best way to deploy this in my opinion would be as part of an already functioning unit. For example:

 

HQ:

Primaris Chaplain with +1 to wound litany

Primaris Lieutenant with assault bolter

 

Troupes:

3x5 Intercescers with assault bolters

 

Elites:

Ironclad with chainfist and hurricane bolter, character, champion strat, relic(?)

 

Now. You could of course move that Ironclad to a vanguard with other elites. The point here is that you're slotting him in with a screen that has other utility, isn't expensive, and fits your ironclad's secondary abilities. This is a troupe that is perfectly fine with advancing up the board on foot, dumping loads of shots into screens of infantry, and clearing a path toward the big boy targets that the ironclad can easily bust open. Once you get into melee range, swap the chaplain to rerolling all hits in melee and send your boy in. 

 

On the advance, the Ironclad can turn 1 CP into a captain buff for all of the boys around him. If you are fighting something like Eldar fliers, you can make use of the strat to let one of your assault boys auto hit. And though it's not the cheapest in terms of CP, the points investment here is relatively light and gives you boots on the ground for objective snagging as well as a meaty castle unit that doesn't need much outside support from the rest of your army. If enemy snipers waste all their time trying to take down that ironclad, they wont' get slay the warlord. if they ignore the ironclad in favor of other buffing characters, he's going to smash something and easily make his points back.


Edited by Marshal Valkenhayn, 21 September 2019 - 08:42 PM.


#28
faithonwings

faithonwings

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 312 posts

with gorgon's chain and FNP trait/mantle you get 4++ 5+++ -1 wound
add strat for 4+++


Vehicles can't take relics. So this only works on bike or infantry characters. Not on dreadnoughts. 😔

#29
Rogue Crusader

Rogue Crusader

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 118 posts

Think it'd be worth using on a Chaplain Dread?



#30
Token

Token

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,074 posts

Wouldnt Only in Death does duty end, stratagem, work good on a Dreadnought character? Attacking once Before being removed? Perhaps not on a Redemptor or Conemptor, since they would use the lower wounds thing for to hit and such. But good for the others, right?

 

Please excuse grammar, Spelling mistakes and such.



#31
Raktra

Raktra

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,965 posts
  • Location:Salisbury, UK
  • Faction: Berserkers of Uran

Think it'd be worth using on a Chaplain Dread?


They’re already characters, not worth burning CP just for an extra attack.

#32
faithonwings

faithonwings

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 312 posts

Wouldnt Only in Death does duty end, stratagem, work good on a Dreadnought character? Attacking once Before being removed? Perhaps not on a Redemptor or Conemptor, since they would use the lower wounds thing for to hit and such. But good for the others, right?

 

Please excuse grammar, Spelling mistakes and such.

 

It's a great idea. Use it on a Levi, hard to kill but if it does go it hits on 4's I believe. 20 shots again... dang that ugly..



#33
Token

Token

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,074 posts

Thanks faithonwings, could be good perhaps.

 

But can a Dreadnought be made a Warlord and given a trait? In what order are the stratagems activated?

 

Please excuse grammar, spelling mistakes and such.



#34
Rodrick

Rodrick

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 133 posts

Thanks faithonwings, could be good perhaps.

 

But can a Dreadnought be made a Warlord and given a trait? In what order are the stratagems activated?

 

Please excuse grammar, spelling mistakes and such.

 

theres a strat that lets you choose a warlord trait without being a warlord , 1cp i think



#35
faithonwings

faithonwings

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 312 posts


Thanks faithonwings, could be good perhaps.

But can a Dreadnought be made a Warlord and given a trait? In what order are the stratagems activated?

Please excuse grammar, spelling mistakes and such.


theres a strat that lets you choose a warlord trait without being a warlord , 1cp i think

Yes, that strat says after choosing the warlord but before the first round, give a character a warlord trait. So you van give it a 5+++, or extra shots on 6's, or move 6" after a fight fase. All very good traits for any dreadnought, but for the Levi most of all.

#36
noigrim

noigrim

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,284 posts
  • Location:Metalica Subsector
  • Faction: Marines , Custodes, Guard, IK
Why?
Still feirros gives you 5++

Sense%2Bt%C3%ADtol%2B(2).pngUntitled-1.jpgsml_gallery_29004_10691_5192.pnggallery_48988_15151_1303.pnggallery_48988_16045_6601.pngETL_Medal_03.gifL_T_3_2017_Badge_02_Chaplain.jpggallery_48988_15465_10777.pngsml_gallery_48988_16053_22349.png


#37
faithonwings

faithonwings

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 312 posts

Why?
Still feirros gives you 5++


It's a 5+++, not a 5++ (so not an invul save but a deny a wound on a 5 or 6) it stacks with the 5++ invul.
  • Juggernut likes this

#38
Token

Token

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,074 posts

The trait with a 6" move as consolidation seems really good, would that mean that at the end of the opponents fight thing, you can simply walk out of combat, then shoot in your own phase and then charge? The warlord stratagem seems really powerfull then. Perhaps wouldnt work if the Dreadnought is surrounded..

 

Please excuse grammar, Spelling mistakes and such.


  • Kallas likes this

#39
radionausea

radionausea

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 284 posts
  • Location:London
  • Faction: Nurgle, Ministorum

The trait with a 6" move as consolidation seems really good, would that mean that at the end of the opponents fight thing, you can simply walk out of combat, then shoot in your own phase and then charge? The warlord stratagem seems really powerfull then. Perhaps wouldnt work if the Dreadnought is surrounded..

Please excuse grammar, Spelling mistakes and such.


Sadly, no. Consolidation moves are in your own fight phase, not your opponents.

#40
Kallas

Kallas

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,356 posts
  • Location:Edinburgh, UK
  • Faction: Howling Griffons

 

The trait with a 6" move as consolidation seems really good, would that mean that at the end of the opponents fight thing, you can simply walk out of combat, then shoot in your own phase and then charge? The warlord stratagem seems really powerfull then. Perhaps wouldnt work if the Dreadnought is surrounded..

Please excuse grammar, Spelling mistakes and such.


Sadly, no. Consolidation moves are in your own fight phase, not your opponents.

 

That is fantastically wrong.

 

A consolidation move happens whenever a unit is selected to fight:

  1. Choose a unit to fight with (if they charged, or there is an enemy model within 1" of that unit, they are eligible)
  2. Pile in up to 3" towards the nearest enemy model (on a model by model basis)
  3. Declare attacks
  4. Make attacks
  5. Consolidate up to 3" towards the nearest enemy model (on a model by model basis)
  6. IH WLT overrides the consolidate to make it 6" in any direction

There's nothing about consolidating only in your own Fight phase.


  • Juggernut likes this

#41
noigrim

noigrim

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,284 posts
  • Location:Metalica Subsector
  • Faction: Marines , Custodes, Guard, IK

Nobody has explained me yet why dreads can't take relics when imperials knights can


Sense%2Bt%C3%ADtol%2B(2).pngUntitled-1.jpgsml_gallery_29004_10691_5192.pnggallery_48988_15151_1303.pnggallery_48988_16045_6601.pngETL_Medal_03.gifL_T_3_2017_Badge_02_Chaplain.jpggallery_48988_15465_10777.pngsml_gallery_48988_16053_22349.png


#42
quasistellar

quasistellar

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 338 posts
Because the relics section of the books specifically says you can't.
  • Kallas likes this

#43
Kallas

Kallas

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,356 posts
  • Location:Edinburgh, UK
  • Faction: Howling Griffons

Nobody has explained me yet why dreads can't take relics when imperials knights can

Because the relics section of the books specifically says you can't.


This.

Dreadnoughts got an errata before C:SM 2.0 which meant that they couldn't take relics; in C:SM 2.0, all of the relic sections specifically call out Vehicles as not being allowed.

Edited by Iron Father Ferrum, 24 September 2019 - 12:53 PM.
Let's avoid too much snark, please.


#44
Rodrick

Rodrick

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 133 posts

still they can take warlord traits with the right stratagems, thats pretty powerful 


  • Juggernut and Kallas like this

#45
TrawlingCleaner

TrawlingCleaner

    ++ CLOACARIUS RETICULUM ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 1,075 posts
  • Location:UK
Ironclads are really great choice for this imo, give them a chainfist and watch them carve up whatever you need to kill. 6A on the charge at S12, -3AP, 4D is gross and makes even knights think twice
  • Juggernut likes this

#46
radionausea

radionausea

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 284 posts
  • Location:London
  • Faction: Nurgle, Ministorum


The trait with a 6" move as consolidation seems really good, would that mean that at the end of the opponents fight thing, you can simply walk out of combat, then shoot in your own phase and then charge? The warlord stratagem seems really powerfull then. Perhaps wouldnt work if the Dreadnought is surrounded..

Please excuse grammar, Spelling mistakes and such.

Sadly, no. Consolidation moves are in your own fight phase, not your opponents.

That is fantastically wrong.

A consolidation move happens whenever a unit is selected to fight:
  • Choose a unit to fight with (if they charged, or there is an enemy model within 1" of that unit, they are eligible)
  • Pile in up to 3" towards the nearest enemy model (on a model by model basis)
  • Declare attacks
  • Make attacks
  • Consolidate up to 3" towards the nearest enemy model (on a model by model basis)
  • IH WLT overrides the consolidate to make it 6" in any direction
There's nothing about consolidating only in your own Fight phase.

Thank you! This is amazing and has changed my understanding of the fight phase. My Chaplain Dread is 100% going to take Student of History now.

#47
noigrim

noigrim

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,284 posts
  • Location:Metalica Subsector
  • Faction: Marines , Custodes, Guard, IK
So if it's just a chaos faq it has nothing to do with iron hands

Sense%2Bt%C3%ADtol%2B(2).pngUntitled-1.jpgsml_gallery_29004_10691_5192.pnggallery_48988_15151_1303.pnggallery_48988_16045_6601.pngETL_Medal_03.gifL_T_3_2017_Badge_02_Chaplain.jpggallery_48988_15465_10777.pngsml_gallery_48988_16053_22349.png


#48
Raktra

Raktra

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,965 posts
  • Location:Salisbury, UK
  • Faction: Berserkers of Uran
Nobody mentioned a Chaos FAQ...
  • Kallas likes this

#49
Iron Father Ferrum

Iron Father Ferrum

    ++ INTERFECTOR PRODITORES ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 6,556 posts
  • Location:NoVA
  • Faction: Iron Hands, Alpha Legion
I think the confusion stems from Kallas using the term "C:SM 2.0" That references the newly published version of Codex Space Marines, *not* Codex Chaos Space Marines 2.0.
  • noigrim likes this
Posted Image

+Corruption of Purpose: Heretic Astartes+
+The Blade Unsheathed: Asuryani+






+AO+ Currently seeking a PhotoShopper to make me a Chaos banner for this signature. +OA+


#50
Kallas

Kallas

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,356 posts
  • Location:Edinburgh, UK
  • Faction: Howling Griffons

I think the confusion stems from Kallas using the term "C:SM 2.0" That references the newly published version of Codex Space Marines, *not* Codex Chaos Space Marines 2.0.

 

Which is why I said C:SM 2.0, not C:CSM 2.0 msn-wink.gif






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


    Bing (1)