Warhammer Crime

grailkeeper

Warhammer Crime was announced at the black library weekender. I'm a practising criminal lawyer so this is something that particularly interests me.

What do we know about it so far? Its described as "Discover hard-bitten detectives, deadly mysteries and more in a new imprint from Black Library,"The first book is called Blood Lines By Chris Wraight. 

It'll probably be a 40kified take on normal crime books. I'd like to give a crack at writing this myself, based on my own experiences. I think I might try and write about a Marine playing detective- if only because they seem so unsuited to it. (40k marines, 30k marines would probably be better at it).

An interesting premise - I have just read your detective astartes post, I must say it is very good.

I think it could work - back in RT Era days there was actually a paint scheme for "Military Police" Space Marines.  I think something like that would be an excellent entry point - perhaps Special Investigation Branch style.  I think the fact you have chosen Dark Angels is also quite clever, what with their proclivity to paranoia.  Perhaps a  fallen  totally loyal brother is at work somewhere....perhaps not!

MR.

I'm interested in seeing what an actual trial looks like in 40K (if you are high enough up to get a trial). Is it an inquisitorial  or adversarial  systems? What vestiges of the legal systems of old earth survived into the 40 Millenia? Do the judges wear those silly black caps the old British judges wore when issuing a death sentence? 

An interesting premise - I have just read your detective astartes post, I must say it is very good.