Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Can a unit that has been charged then heroically intervene ?


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1
Black Blow Fly

Black Blow Fly

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 13,180 posts
  • Location:Unto realms immortal...
  • Faction: TODESKOMPANIE
What it says on the tin. Assume the unit is a character or has a special rule (e.g., stratagem) that allows it to heroically intervene.

fortis Fortuna adiuvat.

.

=][=my 40k blog:https://greenblowfly.../alan-seds.html - Terminus Est - Space Marines 247=][=

.

wc.jpg
.

Blood and Honor!


#2
Slasher956

Slasher956

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,732 posts
  • Location:The Kingdom of the East Saxons!
  • Faction: OoOML, Ulthwé
After the enemy has completed all of their charge moves, any of your CHARACTERS that are within 3" of an enemy unit may perform a Heroic Intervention. Any that do so can move up to 3", so long as they end the move closer to the nearest enemy model.

 

My inital thought is No... however RAW I suppose you could however by if you are B2B with a model that charged you then you cant move so would not be able to finish the move closer so not be able to complet the Heroic Intervention.

 

So if they end 1" away from you and therefore complete the charge but not B2B then yeah you could.... just expect a lot of negative comments about gaming the system....

 

 

EDIT - for clarity - I'm asuming that by 'been charged' you mean an enemy unit has completed their decleared charge by having 1 or more models within 1" of your HI capable unit...  


Edited by Slasher956, 16 December 2019 - 08:54 AM.

Dyspraxic & Dyslexic  - So I might not write/explain what I think I have as clearly as intended to.... 

 

I'm confussed... what side of the fence am I on???

 

happy.png


#3
Prot

Prot

    ++ EQUES AEDITUUS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 14,946 posts

It is my understanding that if you are charged, then your opponent has tried to engage you. If his model is not within 1" of yours, you are free to Heroically intervene at the end of the charge phase. However, if he charged you, and is within an inch of you, you are engaged. You are locked in close combat and unable to heroically intervene. 

 

That's the way I've played it anyway. But as I say this I'm at work... no where near a rule book. :)


  • Black Blow Fly likes this

Click to see....
gallery_2760_14273_30255.jpg
Instagram: @Prot40k


#4
Kallas

Kallas

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,255 posts
  • Location:Edinburgh, UK
  • Faction: Howling Griffons

It is my understanding that if you are charged, then your opponent has tried to engage you. If his model is not within 1" of yours, you are free to Heroically intervene at the end of the charge phase. However, if he charged you, and is within an inch of you, you are engaged. You are locked in close combat and unable to heroically intervene.

That's the way I've played it anyway. But as I say this I'm at work... no where near a rule book. :)


That is entirely counter to what the rules say. There is no exception in the Heroic Intervention rule that prevents you from doing so if the enemy is within 1". As Slasher mentioned above, if the model is in base to base contact with an enemy model then they wouldn't be able to actually move; and HI requires a model to end its move closer to the nearest enemy model, so actually getting away from the charger is almost entirely impossible.

There are circumstances, however, that could lead to that. For example, the Company/Chapter Champion has a rule allowing them to intervene 6", as long as they end closer to the nearest character within 6". In this instance, they'd be able to move away from a non-character in base to base and potentially out of 1" of the non-character unit entirely.
  • Slasher956 likes this

#5
Panzer

Panzer

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 20,531 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Faction: Order of Baal, Dal'yth Sept

It is my understanding that if you are charged, then your opponent has tried to engage you. If his model is not within 1" of yours, you are free to Heroically intervene at the end of the charge phase. However, if he charged you, and is within an inch of you, you are engaged. You are locked in close combat and unable to heroically intervene. 

 

That's the way I've played it anyway. But as I say this I'm at work... no where near a rule book. smile.png

 

You can always do an Heroic Intervention when an enemy unit is within range at the end of the enemy charge phase regardless of whether they tried to charge you or whether you are engaged or not.

However doing a HI when engaged is usually of no concern since you have to move closer to the nearest enemy model anyway. One possible application I could think of though would be to move into base2base contact against single target models before the enemy can activate them to stop them from doing a pile-in move.


  • Kallas likes this

gallery_62972_10568_7658.jpgbFk9acX.pnggallery_62972_14467_40478.pnggallery_62972_14467_3819.jpggallery_62972_10568_4118.jpg


#6
Black Blow Fly

Black Blow Fly

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 13,180 posts
  • Location:Unto realms immortal...
  • Faction: TODESKOMPANIE
You could do it lock an enemy unit/model that charged to prevent it from piling in to a juicy bit ?

fortis Fortuna adiuvat.

.

=][=my 40k blog:https://greenblowfly.../alan-seds.html - Terminus Est - Space Marines 247=][=

.

wc.jpg
.

Blood and Honor!


#7
Dam13n

Dam13n

    ++ CÆLATOR ALTRICES ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 2,420 posts
  • Location:Poole, UK
  • Faction: The Scions
But if the Character is engaged they must be within 1" of the enemy unit, so the closest model referenced in the Heroic Intervention rule would be one of the model(s) already within 1" of the character, which would limit your movement options severely. So we're talking about a scenario that is highly unlikely to be in any way relevant to a game or beneficial to any great extent.

I think that, realistically, the only worthwhile application here is if you have an Objective/Stratagem/Doctrine/etc that grants VPs after intervening or grants some bonus to a model that has heroically intervened (or shifts an aura ability so it catches a nearby friendly unit that was just outside the aura beforehand).

If you apply RAI to this situation, your Character shouldn't be able to Heroically Intervene as he's already engaged.

RAW currently you can, but I'd expect that it's something that, should GW be made aware of it, they'd errata it to disallow engaged models from performing interventions as they are already intervening.

As it stands, it's one of those things that will likely result in your opponent looking at you like you're "that guy".

#8
Panzer

Panzer

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 20,531 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Faction: Order of Baal, Dal'yth Sept

As it stands, it's one of those things that will likely result in your opponent looking at you like you're "that guy".

 

Nah, very unlikely. It's just a cheeky little thing that's unlikely to have any real effect. It basically just takes away the pile-in move for one or two models and that's it.


gallery_62972_10568_7658.jpgbFk9acX.pnggallery_62972_14467_40478.pnggallery_62972_14467_3819.jpggallery_62972_10568_4118.jpg


#9
Black Blow Fly

Black Blow Fly

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 13,180 posts
  • Location:Unto realms immortal...
  • Faction: TODESKOMPANIE
There’s special rules so non character units (squads) can so actually it’s often quite doable.

Never did it myself... saw it occur in a batrep though.

Edited by Black Blow Fly, 16 December 2019 - 08:31 PM.

fortis Fortuna adiuvat.

.

=][=my 40k blog:https://greenblowfly.../alan-seds.html - Terminus Est - Space Marines 247=][=

.

wc.jpg
.

Blood and Honor!


#10
Acebaur

Acebaur

    ++ VENATORIS MALUM ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 7,662 posts
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • Faction: Black Templars

There's also a BT litany that if they charge or heroically intervene then they get +1 attack. So it could be a lot more beneficial to than just preventing another model or two from piling in


  • Black Blow Fly likes this
"There can be no meeting of minds and no understanding with such beings as exist in the dark places of the galaxy.There is simply a choice: defeat them, or be defeated by them. And Defeat them we will"
- Chaplain Emmerich





++++ The Jericho Crusade ++++
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

"Let our feet, steel clad, pressed into the soils of this alien land, remark on our passing. What need have we of plaudit and praise? No matter the laurel of victory, no matter the glories others may seek.
We are the Black Templars. Victory is it's own reward."
- High Marshal Helbrecht


#11
Black Blow Fly

Black Blow Fly

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 13,180 posts
  • Location:Unto realms immortal...
  • Faction: TODESKOMPANIE
Exactly.

fortis Fortuna adiuvat.

.

=][=my 40k blog:https://greenblowfly.../alan-seds.html - Terminus Est - Space Marines 247=][=

.

wc.jpg
.

Blood and Honor!


#12
Claws and Effect

Claws and Effect

    ++ ANGARUS ARANEA ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 3,387 posts
  • Location:The Ravenspire (AKA Iowa)
  • Faction: Raven Guard and DIY WIP
It could lead to gaming the system a bit, though.

If I recall correctly, doesn't it state that a Heroically Intervening character cannot be targeted in the fight phase by the unit they are intervening against?

If that's the case, you could argue that a character could no longer be targeted by one of the units charging it if it intervened against the other.

#13
Panzer

Panzer

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 20,531 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Faction: Order of Baal, Dal'yth Sept

It could lead to gaming the system a bit, though.

If I recall correctly, doesn't it state that a Heroically Intervening character cannot be targeted in the fight phase by the unit they are intervening against?

If that's the case, you could argue that a character could no longer be targeted by one of the units charging it if it intervened against the other.

 

No, nothing says that an intervening character can't be targeted by the charging unit. It's just that if a unit made a charge this turn it can only target the units it declared a charge against. So if your opponent declared a multi-charge against the character as well and you then move the character in range by using HI he's free to attack the character as well.


  • Dr_Ruminahui and Kallas like this

gallery_62972_10568_7658.jpgbFk9acX.pnggallery_62972_14467_40478.pnggallery_62972_14467_3819.jpggallery_62972_10568_4118.jpg


#14
Claws and Effect

Claws and Effect

    ++ ANGARUS ARANEA ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 3,387 posts
  • Location:The Ravenspire (AKA Iowa)
  • Faction: Raven Guard and DIY WIP
I was under the impression that a character or unit can't do a Heroic Intervention if they're the unit being charged.

#15
Panzer

Panzer

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 20,531 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Faction: Order of Baal, Dal'yth Sept

I was under the impression that a character or unit can't do a Heroic Intervention if they're the unit being charged.

 

That's also not a thing. Characters or units in some cases can always do a Heroic Intervention when a unit is in range for it at the end of the opponents charge phase.


  • Kallas likes this

gallery_62972_10568_7658.jpgbFk9acX.pnggallery_62972_14467_40478.pnggallery_62972_14467_3819.jpggallery_62972_10568_4118.jpg


#16
Madmonkeyman

Madmonkeyman

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 344 posts
It’s more for competitive play but there is a lot to be gained from HI when in combat. In a non competitive game it would be a bit much though.
You can manoeuvre our of the way of a lot of models that want to attack a character.
You can base to base to limit pile in moves.
Subsequent rounds of combat you can HI- for example - my blood angels captain gets an extra 2 attacks ( chapter benefit and shock assault) and +1 to wound . These are usually all lost after the first round of combat

#17
Panzer

Panzer

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 20,531 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Faction: Order of Baal, Dal'yth Sept

You have to move closer when you do HI though, so it's VERY unlikely that the BA character would be able to do that in subsquent rounds of combat.


gallery_62972_10568_7658.jpgbFk9acX.pnggallery_62972_14467_40478.pnggallery_62972_14467_3819.jpggallery_62972_10568_4118.jpg


#18
Madmonkeyman

Madmonkeyman

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 344 posts
As long as you are not based , just nudge slightly closer

#19
Panzer

Panzer

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 20,531 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Faction: Order of Baal, Dal'yth Sept

Yeah but usually after your opponent moved his models you are base to base. ^^


gallery_62972_10568_7658.jpgbFk9acX.pnggallery_62972_14467_40478.pnggallery_62972_14467_3819.jpggallery_62972_10568_4118.jpg


#20
Madmonkeyman

Madmonkeyman

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 344 posts
Agree totally easy to shut any of This down. Just saying if you see your opportunity might as well take it.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users