New to Chaos

Hi there, I’m new to chaos and I’m keen to start building my own force. I’ve been playing around on battle scribe for a while to see unit profiles and points cost. I’ve got a few favourite units that I like for mostly for they’re aesthetics. But once I’ve got them in the roster. They don’t make up enough detachments to build CP. Now I’m

not rushing to take this into competitive play, I’m more interested casual, but I want the force to stand its ground and not get swept away.

That said, here’s a short list of units I’m keen to get.

Abaddon

Berserkers

Maulerfiends

Lord of discordant

The problems I’m having are the berserkers are only troop choice for world eaters, but Abaddon is locked into black legion. I could go down the vanguard route, I’d prefer a battalion and I’m not sold on cultists or marines.

Do I go for black legion vanguard? (Ab + bers)

Or do I go for world eaters battalion + black legion detachment?

I’m a keen converter and I’ve got a few ideas in mind to build my own berserkers. I’d love to see any conversions you have made for them.

Finally, what would be good suggestions for filling out a 2000 point list?

A Battalion is best generally yes, as those CP are very useful and your army can make good use of them regardless of Legion. If you're set on Berzerkers then unfortunately there's only one way for you to take them as Troops so having WE as your main Battalion with supporting BL is probably the better way to go. The good thing is the models are what counts so you won't be stuck with your detachments so can change things around later :smile.:

I'd suggest getting to work on your models first, you might find your mind changing or setting once you get going with the army and since you can't use any detachment until you have the models there's no need to worry about it too much yet :wink:

Welcome!

Don't have much to say, as I'd be repeating WarriorFish above me.