Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Summoning daemons and key words question


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1
UniWolf

UniWolf

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 126 posts
  • Faction: Space wolves

If a unit of Daemons, lets say a unit of Bloodletters, are summoned what key words will they have? I understand they will have their respective mark of chaos, in this example Khorne, but will they have a legion key word? only asking because I like the idea of being able to summon something next to a greater possessed to get the +1S buff. 

 

Also while on the topic of the +1S buff, am I correct in thinking that obliterators weapon strength will be 6+D3+1 if within 6" of a greater possessed?


Sometimes by losing a battle you find a way to win the war

 

 


#2
BluejayJunior

BluejayJunior

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 473 posts
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • Faction: Blood Angels

They have the keywords that are listed on their data sheet. They do not gain any new keywords. 


gallery_62972_10568_12006.jpggallery_48988_15465_18311.pnggallery_48988_15465_10130.png


#3
Zephaniah Adriyen

Zephaniah Adriyen

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,324 posts
  • Location:America

If a unit of Daemons, lets say a unit of Bloodletters, are summoned what key words will they have? I understand they will have their respective mark of chaos, in this example Khorne, but will they have a legion key word? only asking because I like the idea of being able to summon something next to a greater possessed to get the +1S buff. 

 

Also while on the topic of the +1S buff, am I correct in thinking that obliterators weapon strength will be 6+D3+1 if within 6" of a greater possessed?

You're incorrect on both counts. They don't gain a <LEGION> keyword just because they got summoned; in fact, summoned Daemons are WORSE than their Daemon detachment counterparts because they don't get Loci or Objective Secured for troops.

 

The Obliterators' base Strength characteristic is changed by the Greater Possessed buff. This would affect their Crushing Fists, not their Fleshmetal Guns, because (with the notable exception of the Venomcrawler) ranged weapons have their own Strength characteristic, separate from the user. The Greater Possessed does not affect the Strength characteristic of the user's weapons, it affects the Strength characteristic of the user. Unless the weapon's Strength characteristic reads as  "+n" instead of, for example, "n", or "n+Dn", it's unaffected by the buff because it doesn't use the user's Strength characteristic.


Edited by Zephaniah Adriyen, 06 January 2020 - 07:48 PM.

  • 40kChris likes this

"All power demands sacrifice and pain. The universe rewards those willing to spill their life's blood for the promise of power." - Sindri Myr

gallery_48988_15808_1006.pnggallery_48988_15465_989.pnggallery_48988_15465_2505.pnggallery_26154_15777_2719.png

"There is no meaning, no purpose. We murder, we kill. It is mindless savagery, this UNIVERSE is mindless!" - Azariah Kyras

 


#4
Dr_Ruminahui

Dr_Ruminahui

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,313 posts
  • Location:Edmonton Hive
  • Faction: Emperor's 2nd cousins

It is worth noting, however, that in the Chaos Demons codex the Herald of Khorne give a similar buff that affects all Khorne demons, so those could be summoned or fielded as part of a Demon's detachment to buff your bloodletters.  Their benefit would also stack with the Greater Possessed's on squads that are able to benefit from both (such as Venomcrawlers and Possesseds).


Edited by Dr_Ruminahui, 06 January 2020 - 11:06 PM.

  • Quixus and Zephaniah Adriyen like this

#5
Doom Herald

Doom Herald

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 528 posts
  • Location:North Carolina, USA
Summoned Daemons use the datasheet as is, no modifications are done unless the datasheet says explicitly that you can (ie: model count in the unit, banners, etc.) They are also not a part of any detachment, they are not even considered to be their own dettachment, and therefore receive no abilities based on detachment contents (ie: faction loci or objective secured rules for troops) nor do they grant access to strategems.

On one last note, I would like to point out that Daemons' faction loci (what you get for all units having the same god) are not a buff to all units the way legion traits are, it is actually an aura given to all characters in that detachment. Any unit with both the DAEMON keyword and the appropriate god keyword can benefit from the aura (including HERETIC ASTARTES if they have the matching keywords).

For example:
If you have an all KHORNE DAEMON patrol dettachment of a Bloodthirster, Flesh Hounds, and Bloodletters, the Bloodthirster will gain the Locus of Rage which is a 6" aura that Grant's charge re-rolls to all KHORNE DAEMON models. The other two units do not gain this ability, but can benefit from the aura if they are in range of the bloodthirster's aura. If you summon a new unit of Flesh Hounds or Bloodletters, they will still be able to benefit from the aura. If you were to summon another Bloodthirster, however, he would not gain the Locus of Rage ability because he is not from a detachment of all KHORNE DAEMONS, but again he can still benefit from the aura of the first Bloodthirster.
  • Gederas, Dr_Ruminahui and Zephaniah Adriyen like this

#6
Zephaniah Adriyen

Zephaniah Adriyen

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,324 posts
  • Location:America

For example:
If you have an all KHORNE DAEMON patrol dettachment of a Bloodthirster, Flesh Hounds, and Bloodletters, the Bloodthirster will gain the Locus of Rage which is a 6" aura that Grant's charge re-rolls to all KHORNE DAEMON models. The other two units do not gain this ability, but can benefit from the aura if they are in range of the bloodthirster's aura. If you summon a new unit of Flesh Hounds or Bloodletters, they will still be able to benefit from the aura. If you were to summon another Bloodthirster, however, he would not gain the Locus of Rage ability because he is not from a detachment of all KHORNE DAEMONS, but again he can still benefit from the aura of the first Bloodthirster.

By the same token, a unit of Khorne Possessed or Obliterators would be able to benefit from a Locus of Rage aura as well, because they have the KHORNE and DAEMON keywords, despite not having the DAEMON faction keyword.


  • Doom Herald likes this

"All power demands sacrifice and pain. The universe rewards those willing to spill their life's blood for the promise of power." - Sindri Myr

gallery_48988_15808_1006.pnggallery_48988_15465_989.pnggallery_48988_15465_2505.pnggallery_26154_15777_2719.png

"There is no meaning, no purpose. We murder, we kill. It is mindless savagery, this UNIVERSE is mindless!" - Azariah Kyras

 





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users