Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

What's in Your Reading Pile? (and What to Read Next?)


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1
Jareddm

Jareddm

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,169 posts
  • Location:N.E. United States

I'm sure I'm not alone in being terribly backlogged on all manner of reading.  But when it comes to Black Library, it hits me bad.  At the same time, I can get terrible analysis paralysis on what to read next, so I thought I'd make a spot where people to state what's in their "To Read" piles and maybe get a nudge from others who have read them.

 

I'm just about to finish The Buried Dagger and have the following waiting for me:

 

Dark Imperium: Plague War

Mark of Faith

On Wings of Blood

Rise of the Ynnari: Ghost Warrior (and Wild Rider)

Rites of Passage

The House of Night and Chain

Inferno Vol. 4

SM Conquest: Apocalypse

Yarrick: The Omnibus

 

I know I'll get to everything, in my own time, but I'd love to hear what people think, and what they've got waiting for them.



#2
theSpirea

theSpirea

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 99 posts

Backlog, a word keeping me up late at night, a word I dread to hear lately. Whether it's games or books, my backlogs reached the point I'll never be able to finish it all. . My 40K + AoS backlog is around 300 books. Non-WH books I'm closing to 1 000.

 

In the upcoming months I plan to read:

 

40K

Mark of Faith

Honourbound (plus all the prequel short stories)

Space Wolves
Spear of the Emperor
 
AoS (getting into AoS last year wasn't the best idea to reduce my backlog)
Soul Wars
Gloomspite
 
Horror
Dark Harvest
Invocations
 
There are so many books by Black Library alone I plan to buy this year it's going to be quite busy. Especially the Horror imprint with the Oubliette, Sepulturum, Anathemas coming out in pretty soon. What I love most about these books is the fact my girlfriend is reading them as well so it's nice to talk about them later on. And we're both super excited what the Crime imprint is going to bring.

  • Xisor and DarkChaplain like this

#3
sitnam

sitnam

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 258 posts

I'm currently halfway through Wings of Blood. Really enjoying the stories, but since it is a short story anthology, I'll finish a story and then put it down for a week or two before starting another. My painting/modelling/video gaming has kind of intruded on my sit-down time to get back to actually reading. Hopefully I'll finish it soon. Next up on the reading front:

 

Honour Imperialis

Severed

Wreck and Ruin

Isha's Lament

Iron Resolve

Lords of the Storm

 

My audible listening has been pretty steady however, due to the massive amount of downtime I get driving around for work. Next up I got:

 

Cadian Honour

Ravenor

The Watcher in the Rain

The House of Night and Chain

Assassinorum: The Emperors Judgement


  • aa.logan likes this

gallery_51296_10593_8492.png

The Order of His Amethyst Heart

The Dancing Scythes Chapter


#4
Red_Shift

Red_Shift

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,128 posts
I'm part way through the novella series but otherwise I'm all caught up. Once the kids are in bed it's time to get the books out and put stuff like Valrak on YouTube! I'm a bit too fast at reading for my own good really and when a book is as good as Dark Harvest I fly through it!

#5
aa.logan

aa.logan

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 304 posts
  • Location:Stockport
  • Faction: Kartash’s pious stink
I like to have two books on the go- one to be read with my eyes, the other an audio. I also like to be close to 50/50 BL/‘proper’ books.

Currently (re)reading: Siege of Castellax
Currently listening to: Milkman, which I’m enjoying so much I’m neglecting the Iron Warriors to continue at every opportunity.

Next up will be Sons of the Selenar which has pushed ahead of a reread of Wrath of Iron. Not sure what ill listen to next, maybe revisit the Dark Angels in The Heresy in anticipation of the Lion El’Johnson book, or Great expectations if I can decide on which version to go for.

I nearly bought the Oubliette on early release, but I think I’ll wait for the audio or paperback if it doesn’t get one. Got a few shorts lined up in my BL website wish list, and I’ll go for them once I’ve got enough in my basket to make the fuss of syncing my ancient e-reader worthwhile.

#6
Rob P

Rob P

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 237 posts

I have:

 

HH: Heralds of the Siege

Ciaphas Cain: Choose your enemies

Horusian Wars: Incarnation

Path of the Dark Eldar Omnibus

Valedor

Devastation of Baal

Phoenix Lord: Asurman

The Solar War

HH: Titan Death

Talon of Horus

Both Dark Imperium Books

War of Secrets

Legends: The Tau Empire

 

I want to read Titan Death to read The Solar War, but can't build up the energy,

 

I've also start-quit Asurman, Valedor, Heralds of the Siege (jeez, why start with a Mechanicus tale) and Ciaphas Cain.

 

I'm finding non-BL stuff so much more engaging at the mo. I really have to be hooked in on the lore at that moment to pick up the book.


  • aa.logan likes this

#7
aa.logan

aa.logan

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 304 posts
  • Location:Stockport
  • Faction: Kartash’s pious stink

I have:
 
HH: Heralds of the Siege
Ciaphas Cain: Choose your enemies
Horusian Wars: Incarnation
Path of the Dark Eldar Omnibus
Valedor
Devastation of Baal
Phoenix Lord: Asurman
The Solar War
HH: Titan Death
Talon of Horus
Both Dark Imperium Books
War of Secrets
Legends: The Tau Empire
 
I want to read Titan Death to read The Solar War, but can't build up the energy,
 
I've also start-quit Asurman, Valedor, Heralds of the Siege (jeez, why start with a Mechanicus tale) and Ciaphas Cain.
 
I'm finding non-BL stuff so much more engaging at the mo. I really have to be hooked in on the lore at that moment to pick up the book.


With Talon of Horus and Devastation of Baal you’ve got two stone-cold BL classics; if they don’t hook you I’m not sure what possibly could
  • cheywood and Rob P like this

#8
Kenzaburo

Kenzaburo

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 261 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Faction: Adeptus Custodes

Oh jeez, I've got a lot:

 

While I've managed to read quite a lot in general in the past few years, it's been less Black Library. I've finally started to read Harry Potter during my honeymoon at the end of 2018 and have been working my way through that series. :) (It's great by the way, who would've thunk^^)

 

My pile of things to read from BL inlcudes:

  • Spear of the Emperor
  • Valdor
  • Titanicus
  • Double Eagle (I'm about half-way through)
  • Path of Heaven (started it 3 times already, but always get stuck, dunno why)
  • basically all HH books after Path of Heaven
  • Solar War
  • The Lost and the Damned
  • Basically all Gaunt's Ghosts books beginning with Salvation's Reach
  • The Carrion Throne
  • Dark Imperium 2

 

There's probably more that I am interested in. But there's also the pile of books not related to Warhammer on my shelves, some non-fiction stuff and so on and so forth.

 

I still get quite a bit of reading in - read Dark Imperium, Wolf King and Watchers of the Throne last year, along with all recent publications in the Primarchs series.


Visit my painter profile on Instagram: https://www.instagra...gfused.painter/

 

gallery_48988_15465_14148.png gallery_48988_15465_5251.png gallery_48988_16045_16337.png

 

My Titanicus Plog  My Ultramarines Primaris Plog


#9
The_son_of_Dorn

The_son_of_Dorn

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,765 posts
  • Location:THE UK!
  • Faction: All and none
Read all the HH up to Calth.

Really want the release of nee AOS books. Particularly a showdown between the Everchosen and the Celestant Prime.

Reading plauge war at present. Quite nice to flit between HH calth and Dark imperium.

Time lines blend quite nicely in terms of Guilliman character building.

My alternate Heresy http://www.bolterandchainsword.com/topic/326705-another-alternate-heresy-with-no-fallen-primarchs/

 

"Poor chaos, the result of trillions of randomly merged hostile emotional subconsciousness's...........and 70% of them are female"  


#10
Knockagh

Knockagh

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 934 posts
40k

Mark of Faith
Choose your Enemies
Darkness in the Blood
Second dark imperium book
Inferno (vol 2,3&4)
Sabbat Worlds (if that counts as a book)

AoS

Court of the Blind King

Also the last 7 or 8 books in the HH series. I’m very unlikely to ever get round to reading these. Disappointed about that but being realistic it’s just not going to happen. I’ve neither the drive or the time to do it.

On top of a few non warhammer books that are also on the list this has been a year when my book buying has vastly outrun my reading for several reasons. So therefor I need to wise up!

#11
DukeLeto69

DukeLeto69

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 795 posts

Another backlog here!

 

Currently reading House of Night and Chain (loving it but got interrupted by xmas, reading Sabbat Crusade background book, family and then back to work).

 

Not sure what order these will go but have the following on the shelf ready to go...

 

HORUS HERESY

- Old Earth

- The Burden of Loyalty

- Born of Flame

 

SIEGE OF TERRA

- The Lost and the Damned

 

40k

- Our Martyred Lady (audio)

- Divination

- Cadian Honour

 

NECROMUNDA

- Underhive (read some)

- Terminal Overkill

 

So quite some to catch up on!



#12
byrd9999

byrd9999

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 35 posts

I'm struggling a little with the first Mephiston book, but I think that's because I have a lot of work-related homework to do, so not much time to read.

 

Once I'm done with that, I have about 25 unread BL books on my shelf, and it's looking like either of these could be up next:

 

House of Night and Chain.

 

Damnation of Pythos



#13
Axineton

Axineton

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,150 posts
  • Location:Portsmouth, UK
  • Faction: Ultramarines & Deathwatch

Just finished Belisarius Cawl: The great work. Loved it. And today going to start reading Blackstone Fortress by Darius Hinks. After that I’m going to make a start on The Founding. 


  • Knockagh likes this

Formally known as Fr33Dom 
 

W.I.P White Consuls 3rd Company

 

                                                                       

                                                        

ETL_VI_Banner_02_Oathbraker_.jpggallery_69091_12729_13131.jpg


#14
Roomsky

Roomsky

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 748 posts
  • Location:Canada, eh?

Knee deep in Discworld, among other things, and the current release schedule means I don't have too much 40k to get into these days. Valdor and Saturnine will of course be a priority once they drop.


Hey I've started a web comic! You can read it here.

 


#15
mc warhammer

mc warhammer

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,288 posts
for the first time, 40k has become more interesting for me than 30k. just finished the dark millennium books and "apocalypse"...started on "the solar war" and got bored, so i'm putting black library down for a while and reading some other stuff (just started "a little life")
can't touch this
can't touch this
can't touch this
warhammer time!
 




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users