Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Advance and Flyers


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1
Berzul

Berzul

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,738 posts
  • Faction: Wings of Dawn (DA Successors)
Hey everyone.

So, I got into a discussion with a friend, regarding flyers and movement.

It says in the profile of this particular flyer that it has a Movement of 20"-40", and it's movement increases 20" when it advances.

One reading of this has been that, the model MUST move 20" minimum, and of it advances, it MUST move 20" more, for a minimum of 40". In essence, it becomes a Movement of 40"-60", from a Movement of 20"-40".

Another reading of this has been that, the model MUST move 20" as a minimum distance, but that then can move as much as it wants, from 0" to 40", as an addition. That is, Movement becomes 20"-60", fron an original 20"-40".

Which is correct?

Edited by Berzul, 13 January 2020 - 02:15 PM.

"Fiat lux!"
- Battle cry of the Wings of Dawn, a Dark Angel's Successor Chapter

gallery_26154_15777_630.png

#2
Dam13n

Dam13n

    ++ CÆLATOR ALTRICES ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 2,398 posts
  • Location:Poole, UK
  • Faction: The Scions
Due to the wording of the rules, outside an official FAQ ruling one cannot be absolutely sure which is correct.

However as most units move characteristic is their "maximum move distance" and an advance would add to that maximum move distance, I think it would be fair to assume that flyers would work the same.

Thusly, the move characteristic of the flyer in your example would become 20-60" on an advance.

In other words, an advance is an optional additional move of up to X", not a mandatory additional move of X". However once declared, the downsides of performing an advance (re. Shooting and Charging) are mandatory.

Edited by Dam13n, 13 January 2020 - 02:52 PM.

  • Berzul, Panzer, Dr_Ruminahui and 1 other like this

#3
Grimdark_Garage

Grimdark_Garage

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 114 posts
  • Faction: Dark Angels

Hmm this is a decent question.

 

Rules as intended you move and then move up to 20" further as an advance.

 

The issue being that the datsheet doesnt mention which move distance is changed.

 

I would suggest that because it doesnt specifiy which movement figure changes (minimum OR maximum), they both change.

EG:

Movement  - 20" - 40"

After changes to profile due to advance move:

Movement - 40" - 60"



#4
Panzer

Panzer

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 19,697 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Faction: Order of Baal, Dal'yth Sept

Rules as intended you move and then move up to 20" further as an advance.

 

That's not how advancing works this edition. You roll the advance, add it to the units movement characteristic for the turn and then move the unit only that one time.


gallery_62972_10568_7658.jpgbFk9acX.pnggallery_62972_14467_40478.pnggallery_62972_14467_3819.jpggallery_62972_10568_4118.jpg


#5
Claws and Effect

Claws and Effect

    ++ ANGARUS ARANEA ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 3,337 posts
  • Location:The Ravenspire (AKA Iowa)
  • Faction: Raven Guard and DIY WIP

The issue being that the datsheet doesnt mention which move distance is changed.


It doesn't have to, based on how Advance works.

You declare that unit X is advancing and roll the dice. Then you add what you rolled to that units movement stat for the duration of the movement phase.

Based on that interaction I would say an Advancing Flyer adds to it's maximum movement but the minimum remains the same.

The only time I can see that really being useful is when the Flyer is on its bottom bracket and moving slower.

#6
Slasher956

Slasher956

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,692 posts
  • Location:The Kingdom of the East Saxons!
  • Faction: OoOML, Ulthwé
Q: The rules for Advancing state that you roll a dice and add the result to the Move characteristic of the models in the unit ‘for that Movement phase’. If, for whatever reason, I am able to Advance and then move normally with a unit in the same Movement phase, does the number I added to the unit’s Move characteristic when it Advanced still apply when I make the normal move with the unit? For example, I have a unit whose Move characteristic is 6". It Advances, and I roll a 6, adding that to its Move characteristic to make 12". If it moves again in the same phase, its Move characteristic is still 12", so can it move up to 12" when making this move?

A: Yes. Note that a unit cannot Advance more than once in the same Movement phase, so the Move characteristic of a unit can only be modified once in this manner.

 

Q: If a unit with a minimum Move characteristic is affected by an ability which changes its Move characteristic, do I change both its minimum and maximum Move characteristics?

A: Yes. For example, an undamaged Hemlock Wraithfighter has a Move characteristic of 20"-60". If it was affected by the Doombolt psychic power, in the following Movement phase, it’s Move characteristic would be 10"-30".

 

from the main rulebook FAQ

 

with these questions as a precidence I would argue that yes you say you are advancing so modifiy the move stat... the 2nd question then tells us if you modify 1 part of the stat then you modify both parts...

 

so an advancing flying moves 40"-60"


Edited by Slasher956, 14 January 2020 - 03:30 PM.

  • Dr_Ruminahui likes this

Dyspraxic & Dyslexic  - So I might not write/explain what I think I have as clearly as intended to.... 

 

I'm confussed... what side of the fence am I on???

 

happy.png





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users