Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

How to pick your Rites

game play sacred rites

  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1
Slasher956

Slasher956

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,732 posts
  • Location:The Kingdom of the East Saxons!
  • Faction: OoOML, Ulthwé

So the question is how do you pick your sacred rites?

 

Now I'm not meaning when you select just the one rite but when you gamble and go for two using the cards...

 

Do you roll 2D6 and then take the cards out fo the deck 

 

OR 

 

do you select two cards from the deck? - As the rulebook allows you to do for Tactical Objectives (either roll the dice then see what TacObj you get OR just pull the card from the deck)

 

 

Now the issue with the doing it the second way is it removes the chance of duplicating your rite - which is allowed in the rules (no extra benifit, just takes 2 CP to remove it if you get one thats no good for you!)

 

So should we only roll or would you allow /do pull two cards?


Dyspraxic & Dyslexic  - So I might not write/explain what I think I have as clearly as intended to.... 

 

I'm confussed... what side of the fence am I on???

 

happy.png


#2
Atrus

Atrus

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 960 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Faction: Order of the Penitent Spirit
What's this talk of cards?
Rule book says roll so if I'm not choosing, I roll...
  • Daimhin likes this

#3
Purifying Tempest

Purifying Tempest

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 373 posts
  • Location:Indianapolis
  • Faction: Order of the Azure Flame

I think you should have to roll.  Otherwise there is no downside of rolling duplicates (it was an intended mechanic that was called out in the choice as a possible pitfall).  One of the few times I would be a bit more strict on the wording that I otherwise would be.  Mainly because it would only impact me :)

 

Again, the ONLY reason I would hold to the rolling instead of drawing restriction is because the system specifically states that it is possible to only generate 1 Sacred Rite by doing it that way.

 

Alternatively, if you had 2 sets of Sacred Rites cards and wanted to draw from them instead... knock yourself out!



#4
Lemondish

Lemondish

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,785 posts

I think you should have to roll. Otherwise there is no downside of rolling duplicates (it was an intended mechanic that was called out in the choice as a possible pitfall). One of the few times I would be a bit more strict on the wording that I otherwise would be. Mainly because it would only impact me :)

Again, the ONLY reason I would hold to the rolling instead of drawing restriction is because the system specifically states that it is possible to only generate 1 Sacred Rite by doing it that way.

Alternatively, if you had 2 sets of Sacred Rites cards and wanted to draw from them instead... knock yourself out!


Agreed here, though provided it is a friendly game.

Whether intentional or otherwise, cards can get marked. If we're playing a competitive match where victory matters, I would ask that it be selected by a roll and not by drawing cards.

That or I suppose just sleeve the cards? That would work for me, personally.

#5
Slasher956

Slasher956

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,732 posts
  • Location:The Kingdom of the East Saxons!
  • Faction: OoOML, Ulthwé

 


Agreed here, though provided it is a friendly game.

Whether intentional or otherwise, cards can get marked. If we're playing a competitive match where victory matters, I would ask that it be selected by a roll and not by drawing cards.

That or I suppose just sleeve the cards? That would work for me, personally.

 

 

but only if they had 2 sets?  OR would you be happy at me pulling 2 cards out of my 6, so having 0 chance of getting a double?


Dyspraxic & Dyslexic  - So I might not write/explain what I think I have as clearly as intended to.... 

 

I'm confussed... what side of the fence am I on???

 

happy.png


#6
Lemondish

Lemondish

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,785 posts

 

 


Agreed here, though provided it is a friendly game.

Whether intentional or otherwise, cards can get marked. If we're playing a competitive match where victory matters, I would ask that it be selected by a roll and not by drawing cards.

That or I suppose just sleeve the cards? That would work for me, personally.

 

 

but only if they had 2 sets?  OR would you be happy at me pulling 2 cards out of my 6, so having 0 chance of getting a double?

 

 

If we're playing a friendly match, and you really wanted to do that, then I'd personally allow it. I don't like feels bad moments at the start of a match, and rolling doubles for that would just suck for you given how random they are already, even if it's just like a 16.66% chance for it to happen...

 

Actually, that kind of gives me an idea...what if you rolled a separate die before drawing, and on a 1, you only got to draw 1?

 

It would simulate doubles pretty accurately I think. After all, out of the number of potential dice combinations you can get from a 2d6 throw (36 total), only 6 are doubles, which is exactly a 1/6 chance. 


Edited by Lemondish, 14 January 2020 - 04:26 PM.


#7
Slasher956

Slasher956

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,732 posts
  • Location:The Kingdom of the East Saxons!
  • Faction: OoOML, Ulthwé
Yeah that would work.. Then the 1st time you use the rites strat you just take a 2nd rite... Then people don't need 2 sets of rites cards (although there might be some flying round on ebay for cheep enough)

Dyspraxic & Dyslexic  - So I might not write/explain what I think I have as clearly as intended to.... 

 

I'm confussed... what side of the fence am I on???

 

happy.png


#8
Atrus

Atrus

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 960 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Faction: Order of the Penitent Spirit
Or if you use cards, you could draw the first card, show it so everyone knows what it is, put it back in and shuffle and get opponent to cut then you draw your second card?

#9
taikishi

taikishi

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 910 posts

What I was thinking when I read this, just didn't want to say it.

 

Or.

 

Just roll 2d6 like the book says. Done.


  • bkde likes this

#10
Nicodemus Doloroso

Nicodemus Doloroso

    ++ LEGIFER EXLEGIS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 2,875 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Faction: Inquisition

If the codex says roll, then you need to roll IMO.

 

Only way I could see it working with cards fairly, is if you draw a card, note down what you drew, put it back in the deck, shuffle the deck thoroughly, and then draw again. 


Lord Inquisitor Soulis' Ordo Hereticus Strikeforce: WIP Thread (update 21/01/20 Four new =][= Stormtroopers complete)
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#11
Slasher956

Slasher956

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,732 posts
  • Location:The Kingdom of the East Saxons!
  • Faction: OoOML, Ulthwé

What I was thinking when I read this, just didn't want to say it.

Or.

Just roll 2d6 like the book says. Done.


So like I said in the OP as the 1st option :P

Dyspraxic & Dyslexic  - So I might not write/explain what I think I have as clearly as intended to.... 

 

I'm confussed... what side of the fence am I on???

 

happy.png


#12
Montford

Montford

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 834 posts
  • Location:Nigh that dark and bloody river.
  • Faction: Sisters of Battle/Red Templars

I always select one of them. Rolling a 6 would be fairly useless as I play Sacred Rose.


Peace may cost less than war, or infinitely more, for war cannot cost more than one's own life.

 

-Klingon proverb


#13
Lemondish

Lemondish

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,785 posts

I always select one of them. Rolling a 6 would be fairly useless as I play Sacred Rose.

 

You should still roll for morale even if you can't pass, can't fail, or know that you'll only lose one from Sacred Rose. It's a source of MD after all. 

 

This particular Rite gives you more reliability from that particular source of MD, especially as Sacred Rose. 


Edited by Lemondish, 15 January 2020 - 09:25 AM.


#14
Slasher956

Slasher956

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,732 posts
  • Location:The Kingdom of the East Saxons!
  • Faction: OoOML, Ulthwé

To be fair the worse case scenario in randomly choosing is you get double 3 (I think that the number, the one that gives you the +3 to deny tests) against Tau* :P

 

 

*or any other force that doesnt have psychers.


Dyspraxic & Dyslexic  - So I might not write/explain what I think I have as clearly as intended to.... 

 

I'm confussed... what side of the fence am I on???

 

happy.png


#15
taikishi

taikishi

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 910 posts

Good thing you get to pick or roll after deployment, meaning you aren't locked into one or two specific Sacred Rites for an entire tournament and meaning you know your opponent doesn't have psykers so you pick a rite that will have some effect.

 

Not that I'm convinced Sacred Rites are worth giving up pretty much any allies for but...

 

:shrug:



#16
Shandathe

Shandathe

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 16 posts

Roll 2d6. The Battle Rites stratagem is only a single CP if you want to change one out due to a double (or for any other reason), and as it blocks currently active ones - including the one you're about to turn off - it almost guarantees you'll get something more useful.

 

Even if you roll double 3s against non-psykers you can have that fixed entirely by your round 2 unless you get your Warlord killed :-)

 

Note: If you're going for the roll, don't select an Inquisitor ally as your Warlord or you can't fix poor results!



#17
Slasher956

Slasher956

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,732 posts
  • Location:The Kingdom of the East Saxons!
  • Faction: OoOML, Ulthwé

Good thing you get to pick or roll after deployment, meaning you aren't locked into one or two specific Sacred Rites for an entire tournament and meaning you know your opponent doesn't have psykers so you pick a rite that will have some effect.
 
Not that I'm convinced Sacred Rites are worth giving up pretty much any allies for but...
 
:shrug:



Played with 2 randoms tonight against Tau...got re-roll moral and 5+ attack....

The moral thing only came in to play twice in 2 turns(run out of time at the club)..failed to do anything! The 5+ attack when you die brought some interesting results... killed off the last couple of models in a unit in the charge phase :P

Dyspraxic & Dyslexic  - So I might not write/explain what I think I have as clearly as intended to.... 

 

I'm confussed... what side of the fence am I on???

 

happy.png


#18
Montford

Montford

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 834 posts
  • Location:Nigh that dark and bloody river.
  • Faction: Sisters of Battle/Red Templars

 

Good thing you get to pick or roll after deployment, meaning you aren't locked into one or two specific Sacred Rites for an entire tournament and meaning you know your opponent doesn't have psykers so you pick a rite that will have some effect.
 
Not that I'm convinced Sacred Rites are worth giving up pretty much any allies for but...
 
:shrug:



Played with 2 randoms tonight against Tau...got re-roll moral and 5+ attack....

The moral thing only came in to play twice in 2 turns(run out of time at the club)..failed to do anything! The 5+ attack when you die brought some interesting results... killed off the last couple of models in a unit in the charge phase tongue.png

 

 

That Rite is really good, it works on Exorcists :)


Peace may cost less than war, or infinitely more, for war cannot cost more than one's own life.

 

-Klingon proverb


#19
Slasher956

Slasher956

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,732 posts
  • Location:The Kingdom of the East Saxons!
  • Faction: OoOML, Ulthwé

when your dice like you :( first turn (I went second) they didnt.... not 1 5+... and I lost an exorcist, and about a dozen girls....


Dyspraxic & Dyslexic  - So I might not write/explain what I think I have as clearly as intended to.... 

 

I'm confussed... what side of the fence am I on???

 

happy.png


#20
MoshJason

MoshJason

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 90 posts
I never remember to do that one. I'd much rather have the extra hits in melee (I play bloody rose, and take a lot of Celestians and the Miley Cyrus Wrecking ball canonnes.)

But I don't really like picking, since it feels anticlimactic, so I always roll, and have gotten that one pretty much every time.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users