Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Psychic Awakening: What do you want to see?


  • Please log in to reply
99 replies to this topic

#76
Panzer

Panzer

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 20,479 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Faction: Order of Baal, Dal'yth Sept

I come to you with leaks! http://https://imgur.com/a/2uXgt5L

 

Be warned, it seems all we are getting is Exalted GD stuff. It's actually great stuff (like so good I'll be probably just rolling for two random traits every time on my KoS), but it does literally nothing to help the rest of the army unfortunately. Also some Stratagems for other units, but nothing world shaking.

 

 

D2PLnjg.jpg

KvVW756.jpg

 

i0nCBs2.jpg

GhGGrfh.jpg

 

3N7JSuE.jpg

bOFBxwd.jpg

 

PG4XlS5.jpg

LC8wED8.jpg

 

dNaz0iZ.jpg

04pQ4nD.jpg


  • Prot, WarriorFish and Marshal Valkenhayn like this

gallery_62972_10568_7658.jpgbFk9acX.pnggallery_62972_14467_40478.pnggallery_62972_14467_3819.jpggallery_62972_10568_4118.jpg


#77
WarriorFish

WarriorFish

    ++ PRÆFECT SOCIORUM ++

  • +++ADMINISTRATUM+++
  • 22,004 posts
  • Location:Blighty
  • Faction: Hunter Legion

I suppose that's to be expected, but these look decent. Maybe my low rolling can help for once, 1 and 2 look nice for Slaanesh Exalted Keepers! A 4++ so much so I'd be tempted to pick it even...

 

Nice to have some more Stratagems as individual gods are short. They seem nice enough would have been great to get something fancy for a change but improvements will do.


gallery_48988_15465_8206.pnggallery_30308_9518_1551.pnggallery_30308_3239_3185.pnggallery_30308_9518_17558.pnggallery_30308_3239_193.pnggallery_30308_3239_17729.png
Painting Oaths Completed:
gallery_30308_3239_28.gifgallery_30308_3239_28.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_84.gifgallery_30308_3239_42.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_42.gifgallery_30308_3239_28.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_42.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gif
gallery_30308_3239_42.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_42.gif
In the grim predictability of online 40k, there can be only Sun Tzu quotes

SM Ironclad | IG Stormies | CSM Spidershrimp | =][= Stormies | AM Armigers | DE [Repaint] | TSons Rubrics | Daemons Keeper of Secrets

#78
Marshal Valkenhayn

Marshal Valkenhayn

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 218 posts
  • Location:Oklahoma
  • Faction: Black Templars

There's a lot of useful things there for my Khorne boys. Especially the 3 CP punch back strat and the mortal wounds on charges. Those are both extremely good cards to play at the right moment. Bloodthirsters got a good shot of turbo too. So much that I'll probably always roll for my traits, as there are no bad answers.

 

Wouldn't say that Daemons are fixed, but these are great options across the board, and 9th has the potential to give us even more of a leg up. Very exciting.



#79
Prot

Prot

    ++ EQUES AEDITUUS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 14,926 posts

I would LOVE a reason to crack these bad boys out again:

gallery_2760_11609_164525.jpg

 

gallery_2760_11609_446188.jpg

 

 

gallery_2760_11609_201666.jpg

 

But I just don't see it.

 

What I do see however is a darn good reason to buy my first Lord of Change! (I just have so much Khorne daemons I don't know if I could do it.)


Edited by Prot, 30 May 2020 - 06:44 PM.

  • Tallarn Commander likes this

Click to see....
gallery_2760_14273_30255.jpg
Instagram: @Prot40k


#80
Archaeinox

Archaeinox

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,005 posts

Glad I just sold my 5 Screamers at a swap meet yesterday cause that stratagem for them is still pfft. Their WS is 4+ so I don't care about the increased chance to wound :\

 

Happy I have these flamers still- painting more up!


"You're a wizard, Ahri"

"Discgoat for Harambe"


#81
Mr4Minutes

Mr4Minutes

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 511 posts
The new rules look decent. I don’t think there’s anything here pushing mono daemons into the top tier, but it looks playable.

I know blood crushers haven’t been considered a good unit in 8th, but I think that strat brings some nice play. Mainly the ability to double charge. It may be more valuable in a soup where you can weaken a unit with shooting first. But if you can get in a wipe that initial unit you’ could now be right in the guts.

If 9th truly brings us ways to get into CC I think khornes looking good.

#82
Cheex

Cheex

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 4,953 posts
Yep, totally keen on these for Khorne. The best thing is that this strat is done "before the battle", which means you can do it immediately before deployment, after you already know your opponent and mission at an event. If you have a specific ability in mind for that battle, you can choose.

I could see myself rolling for my Bloodthirster's abilities nearly every time, unless I'm using it specifically along with a Bloodletter Bomb, in which case I'd probably pick the +2" charge.

Actually...I don't see anything that prevents you from playing the strat multiple times on the same GD. I suspect this will be FAQed pretty quickly, but that gives us a few weeks of fun...

#83
Archaeinox

Archaeinox

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 2,005 posts

Someone explain the Horrors stratagem to me because I don't see where I'd use it.

 

You must have 10 pinks, otherwise its only 1 mortal wound for Smite.

 

So you spend 1 CP, Smite roll counts as being 9, and its d3 wounds at best.


"You're a wizard, Ahri"

"Discgoat for Harambe"


#84
Panzer

Panzer

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 20,479 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Faction: Order of Baal, Dal'yth Sept

Someone explain the Horrors stratagem to me because I don't see where I'd use it.

 

You must have 10 pinks, otherwise its only 1 mortal wound for Smite.

 

So you spend 1 CP, Smite roll counts as being 9, and its d3 wounds at best.

 

Well yeah it just adds some reliability. It can be nice just to make it harder for the enemy to deny since the probability or folling a 9 with 2d6 is rather low (the whole problem of charging out of reserves) but it's also nice after you already used a few smites with your characters or other horror units.


Edited by Panzer, Yesterday, 05:00 AM.

  • Archaeinox likes this

gallery_62972_10568_7658.jpgbFk9acX.pnggallery_62972_14467_40478.pnggallery_62972_14467_3819.jpggallery_62972_10568_4118.jpg


#85
Cheex

Cheex

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 4,953 posts

Ok, so I've had some time to ruminate on this, and I'm still quite excited by the Exalted GD rules. A Bloodthirster with +2" to charge suddenly becomes a viable addition to a Bloodletter Bomb.

 

Edit: there are some Matched Play rules I wasn't taking into account. That throws a spanner into the works a little, but it's still workable.

 

My new plan is to run a pair of Exalted Bloodthirsters at 2000pts. The first has the Blood-Drinker Talisman and chooses the +2" charge ability. The second rolls the Exalted abilities, and depending on the results, may also be given the Armour of Scorn as a relic (since that happens before the battle as well) to try and keep it alive as long as possible.

 

The deep striking Bloodthirster could be used to eat overwatch, since it has a reasonable chance to regain the wounds it loses. The walking Bloodthirster will have at least the Armour of Scorn to keep it alive, or possibly a defensive Exalted ability or two.

 

There is still the current RAW ability to play the Exalted strat twice on the same Bloodthirster, so I could choose the Battle-lust ability and one of the defensive ones to go with it. But I still expect that to be FAQed.

 

My original plan, that will still work in Narrative games (as rare as those are in my group now) but not in Matched:

 

Roll for the abilities randomly on the first; if I get the +2" ability on that, then I'll roll randomly for the second one. If I don't get the +2" ability, then I'll simply choose it on the second. Then, during deployment, choose that Bloodthirster to set up in the Warp. Chances are, the other Bloodthirster will have some ability (or combination of abilities) that helps to protect it, and it will be run with some allied CSM monsters (Disco Lord, Blood Slaughterer) that will help with target saturation.

 

The first Bloodthirster will be given the Blood-Drinker Talisman. If it's the one in the Warp, then it can be used to eat some overwatch; it'll likely regain a lost wound or two to help keep it in the top bracket. If it walks, then it'll hopefully be able to soak up a little damage before getting some wounds back in combat.

 

If the second Bloodthirster is the one in the Warp, then I probably won't bother spending a CP to give it a relic; maybe the Crimson Crown if I feel generous. However, if it has to walk then I'll probably give it the Armour of Scorn to help soak up damage from shooting.

 

Another thought is to run a single Bloodthirster, but if I don't roll the +2" ability then simply play the strat again and choose the ability specifically. However, while this is currently allowed (unless we're missing something from the leaks), I expect it to be FAQed out.


Edited by Cheex, Yesterday, 07:08 AM.


#86
Khalan

Khalan

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 169 posts

Someone explain the Horrors stratagem to me because I don't see where I'd use it.

 

You must have 10 pinks, otherwise its only 1 mortal wound for Smite.

 

So you spend 1 CP, Smite roll counts as being 9, and its d3 wounds at best.

You can use it on a Changecaster, as it is has the keywords.



#87
Panzer

Panzer

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 20,479 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Faction: Order of Baal, Dal'yth Sept

 

Someone explain the Horrors stratagem to me because I don't see where I'd use it.

 

You must have 10 pinks, otherwise its only 1 mortal wound for Smite.

 

So you spend 1 CP, Smite roll counts as being 9, and its d3 wounds at best.

You can use it on a Changecaster, as it is has the keywords.

 

 

Unfortunately not true. The Changecaster has the HORROR keyword while Horrors and the Stratagem use the HORRORS keyword.


Edited by Panzer, Today, 07:27 AM.

gallery_62972_10568_7658.jpgbFk9acX.pnggallery_62972_14467_40478.pnggallery_62972_14467_3819.jpggallery_62972_10568_4118.jpg


#88
Marshal Valkenhayn

Marshal Valkenhayn

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 218 posts
  • Location:Oklahoma
  • Faction: Black Templars

Isn't there an FAQ somewhere that states the plural of a keyword is the same keyword?



#89
Panzer

Panzer

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 20,479 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Faction: Order of Baal, Dal'yth Sept

Not that I know of.


gallery_62972_10568_7658.jpgbFk9acX.pnggallery_62972_14467_40478.pnggallery_62972_14467_3819.jpggallery_62972_10568_4118.jpg


#90
MillionsSons

MillionsSons

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 97 posts

Someone explain the Horrors stratagem to me because I don't see where I'd use it.

You must have 10 pinks, otherwise its only 1 mortal wound for Smite.

So you spend 1 CP, Smite roll counts as being 9, and its d3 wounds at best.


Well usually horrors never smite. Need a 5+ On 1 dice and since the threshold increase anytime you cast so you wouldnt waste your smite on them, better have other caster get their smite off.

So now you spend 1 CP and you get that smite off too. And its a 9 so you can do it at then end of psychic phase after at least 4 other psyker have used their smite.
1 CP for 1d3 MW. Not amazing. Can be useful sometime..

#91
Cheex

Cheex

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 4,953 posts

 

 

Someone explain the Horrors stratagem to me because I don't see where I'd use it.

 

You must have 10 pinks, otherwise its only 1 mortal wound for Smite.

 

So you spend 1 CP, Smite roll counts as being 9, and its d3 wounds at best.

You can use it on a Changecaster, as it is has the keywords.

 

 

Unfortunately not true. The Changecaster has the HORROR keyword while Horrors and the Stratagem use the HORRORS keyword.

 

 

Huh. I guess Loci don't work either. And you could never buy additional relics. Or ever use the Heroic Intervention rule. Or use any rule that refers to keyword DAEMONS.

 

I mean, you are the best kind of correct, but come on.



#92
Marshal Valkenhayn

Marshal Valkenhayn

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 218 posts
  • Location:Oklahoma
  • Faction: Black Templars

Found it in the errata for the basic 40K rules:

 

Q: Does the pluralisation (or not) of a keyword make any
difference to which units the rule applies to (e.g. Terminator
vs. Terminators)?
A: No.

  • Panzer likes this

#93
Panzer

Panzer

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 20,479 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Faction: Order of Baal, Dal'yth Sept

 

Found it in the errata for the basic 40K rules:

 

Q: Does the pluralisation (or not) of a keyword make any
difference to which units the rule applies to (e.g. Terminator
vs. Terminators)?
A: No.

 

 

Ah so I was wrong. Thanks for clarifying!


  • Marshal Valkenhayn likes this

gallery_62972_10568_7658.jpgbFk9acX.pnggallery_62972_14467_40478.pnggallery_62972_14467_3819.jpggallery_62972_10568_4118.jpg


#94
Plague _Lord

Plague _Lord

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 134 posts
  • Location:Poland
  • Faction: CSM

Anyone thought of rolling on the exalted table untill you get a 2+ DR GuO?

Probably with T8 to boot!


Armies:

40k: Deathguard, Steel Legion, Word Bearers, Space wolves, Necrons

WFB: Night goblins, Empire, Dark Elves


#95
Marshal Valkenhayn

Marshal Valkenhayn

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 218 posts
  • Location:Oklahoma
  • Faction: Black Templars

The same GD can not have multiples of a power. If you roll duplicates you have to roll again. Pretty sure we'll lose the ability to use it more than once on the same daemon too, once the FAQ comes out. Doesn't seem like the rule was intended to stack.



#96
Panzer

Panzer

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 20,479 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Faction: Order of Baal, Dal'yth Sept

Yeah I don't expect that option to stick around so I'm not planning around it. If it stays however I'll always spend 2-3CP on my KoS. :sweat:


  • Plague _Lord likes this

gallery_62972_10568_7658.jpgbFk9acX.pnggallery_62972_14467_40478.pnggallery_62972_14467_3819.jpggallery_62972_10568_4118.jpg


#97
Plague _Lord

Plague _Lord

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 134 posts
  • Location:Poland
  • Faction: CSM

The same GD can not have multiples of a power. If you roll duplicates you have to roll again. Pretty sure we'll lose the ability to use it more than once on the same daemon too, once the FAQ comes out. Doesn't seem like the rule was intended to stack.

 

You reroll when you roll a double, not when you roll an ability you already have, nor is the word "duplicate" actually used. So you can, by all means use cp untill you roll +1 to DR 2 times (you pick the 1st time and then need just 2 more roll of a 2 to get it.

 

Of course I'm still 99% sure it will get faq'ed.


Armies:

40k: Deathguard, Steel Legion, Word Bearers, Space wolves, Necrons

WFB: Night goblins, Empire, Dark Elves


#98
WarriorFish

WarriorFish

    ++ PRÆFECT SOCIORUM ++

  • +++ADMINISTRATUM+++
  • 22,004 posts
  • Location:Blighty
  • Faction: Hunter Legion

Agreed, I expect that's not intended and if a limit is not in the book already an FAQ would surely be shortly to follow to prevent it. Otherwise you'd happily spend a couple of CPs for good odds of getting the ones you want! It's not like Daemons have much else to spend CPs on...


gallery_48988_15465_8206.pnggallery_30308_9518_1551.pnggallery_30308_3239_3185.pnggallery_30308_9518_17558.pnggallery_30308_3239_193.pnggallery_30308_3239_17729.png
Painting Oaths Completed:
gallery_30308_3239_28.gifgallery_30308_3239_28.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_84.gifgallery_30308_3239_42.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_42.gifgallery_30308_3239_28.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_42.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gif
gallery_30308_3239_42.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_42.gif
In the grim predictability of online 40k, there can be only Sun Tzu quotes

SM Ironclad | IG Stormies | CSM Spidershrimp | =][= Stormies | AM Armigers | DE [Repaint] | TSons Rubrics | Daemons Keeper of Secrets

#99
Marshal Valkenhayn

Marshal Valkenhayn

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 218 posts
  • Location:Oklahoma
  • Faction: Black Templars

Deepstrike. So much deepstrike. As a khorne player I burn at minimum 6 CP just on that before a match even begins. Another 3+ to fight again or use the new punch back strat. It seems Khorne will still be pretty CP starved, but with any luck it'll be much better now that I don't have to stretch my limited troupes so much.

 

Who knows. With 9th coming the cost of deepstrike might go way down, the effectiveness might go up, or the need to deepstrike everything might go away. I'm stoked to see how it stacks with these new rules to open up the battlefield. 

 

I've already determined I'll be running my 12 man bloodcrusher squad more often to take advantage of mass mortal wounds. Being able to hit the battlefield with 12 cavalry that charge 3d6+1, impact for an average of 12 mortal wounds, then get to charge again is exciting as hell. It makes me wonder if the banner of blood is applied to both charges, or only the first. Imagine being able to deploy 9 away from an enemy in the mid field, charge into them or around them, deliver enough impact hits to kill, then charge another 12 inches to your real target. That's 21 inches of movement before pile in or consolidation.



#100
Mr4Minutes

Mr4Minutes

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 511 posts
Banner of blood is worded to be a one time use that is declared before making a charge. So it wouldn’t apply to second charge.

Edited by Mr4Minutes, Today, 02:02 PM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users