Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Combined Assault Rules Question.


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1
farfromsam

farfromsam

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 455 posts
  • Location:TEXAS
So, recently my opponent and I found ourselves at an interesting rules crossing. My opponent was using deathwatch special ammo that always wounds on a 2+, I asked if I used the strategem transhuman physiology (only wounds my unit on a 4+) what would happen? Whose rules would win? The RTT ruled that it depends on whose turn it. the rule would favor them. Cool, Got it, seems fair.

That makes me wonder about combined assault and how it interacts with the new Tau rule or omniscramblers that keeps units from deep striking within 12". Specifically how does the ITC deal with it.

One rule says no, another rule says if a set of conditions are met you can deploy in a unique way. If the precedent of whose turn it is takes effect it is an easy answer.

Any way. Share with me what you know. Again looking for the ITC final ruling but an explanation would be helpful too.

#2
Dumah

Dumah

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 544 posts
  • Location:Eunoia

From the FAQ for Codex Vanguard Space Marines:

 

Q:  If a unit has a rule that says enemy units cannot set up within a certain distance of it (e.g. Omni-scramblers), but an enemy unit has a rule that says it can set up within a certain distance (e.g. Vexilla Teleport Homerand Lying in Wait), which takes precedence?  

AThe rule that says you cannot be set up within a certain distance (in the example instance, Omni-scramblers) always takes precedence.


Edited by Dumah, 18 February 2020 - 03:19 AM.

  • farfromsam likes this

Check out my short story thread - The Labours of Kill-team Gigantes:

 

http://www.bolterand...ntes/?p=5495533


#3
farfromsam

farfromsam

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 455 posts
  • Location:TEXAS
Thanks Dumah. That's good and clear, exactly what I was looking for.

#4
ValourousHeart

ValourousHeart

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,869 posts
  • Location:DFW, Texas
  • Faction: Order of the Gossamer Shroud

The RTT got the ruling on Transhuman Physiology wrong.

"When resolving an attack an unmodified wound roll of 1-3 always fails, irrespective of any abilities that the weapon or the model making that attack may have."

 

If you just remember this you should get the right answer 90% of the time.

In general, defensive effects take priority over offensive effects, instant effects take priority over persistent effects, and when possible all effects take effect.


  • Dumah and farfromsam like this




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users