Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Librarian can get a 2+ invul!


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1
Montoya

Montoya

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 33 posts

Interesting miss (i think) on GW's part.

 

You're allowed to take a librarian from the index.   If you do, they can take a storm shield (so 3+ invul)

 

If you then take a warding stave, it improves your invul save by 1.    

 

For most things, they've put an FAQ on things that improve invul saves to max them out at 3+.   I can't find anything to limit the bonus in this combo.   Am i missing something?



#2
Seizeman

Seizeman

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 374 posts

There's sort of a "legal void" when it comes to index options. Previous to the "Legends" rules, there was a chart that specified how you used models with gear options not in the codex, which basically stated that you used the updated datasheet (the codex's one in this case) but could use the old wargear paying the price listed in the index.

 

Most units in this situation got moved to "legends", making them illegal in most tournaments, but not the GK librarian with shield, because it was never a model released by GW. In fact, the only reason the GK librarian had the shield option is because it used the SM librarian datasheet. The storm shield option on the SM librarian has become a Legends option, making it clear that it is no longer tournament legal.

 

Legends were supposed to solve all the index/codex problems, so there's no longer an official way to use index options, nor a legends clarificiation, so wether you can use librarians with shields is up in the air. Most tournaments just ban legends and index options, so don't get used to those shields if you plan to play competitively.

 

By the way, you can legally have a 2++ save with the current rules. A brother captain or grand master with sanctuary or heed the prognosticars and a stave still has a 2++ in combat (a 3++ with a +1 to the roll, technically).



#3
Gaz1858

Gaz1858

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 1,626 posts
  • Location:Sydney AU
  • Faction: Grey Knights and Admech

Purifiers can also get a 2++ with their 1CP strat for a 4++, Sanctuary for a 3++ against shooting and Staves for a 2++ in combat


QUOTE
Snipper Rifles: 36", Heavy D3 Rending, as they hurl barber's scissors across the battlefield with deadly precision!

#4
Tralador

Tralador

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 48 posts
I have always thought that if you use sanctuary/heed at any point in the chain, the “can’t get better than a 3++” applies can anyone confirm or deny?

Edited by Tralador, 25 March 2020 - 07:53 AM.

  • Panzer likes this

#5
Seizeman

Seizeman

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 374 posts

The limitation on heed and sanctuary only apply if used on Draigo (or a librarian with shield) or if you use both on the same unit, since staves don't improve your save but your save rolls. This gives you a 3++ save and a +1 to save rolls, which is not technically a 2++ save, but, in practice, works like one.

 

The changes to heed and sanctuary were mostly just to prevent GMNDKs or Draigos having 2++ against everything. An effective 2++ just in combat is just fine, apparently.


  • Gaz1858 and Tralador like this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users