Jump to content

Welcome to The Bolter and Chainsword
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Question about the astral blast spell?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1
Ezekyle_Abaddon

Ezekyle_Abaddon

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 7 posts
So my buddy and I were playing a game and he had a tactical squad next to a captain with 1 wound. Now I manifested an astral blast spell and the tactical squad was the closest unit and it took 3 mortal wounds. He understood the spell and removed the guys closest to his captain, making him out of 3" and his captain couldn't suffer the mortal wounds caused to nearly units from the spell. Now my question is, what is the order of events that happen when a situation like this occurs?

Edited by Ezekyle_Abaddon, 24 March 2020 - 04:32 AM.


#2
Prot

Prot

    ++ EQUES AEDITUUS ++

  • ++ MODERATI ++
  • 15,046 posts

It happens at the same time. It's like 1 weapon hitting. 

 

So you declare, and figure out the targets at that time. The blast doesn't hit one squad, then another, then another. 

 

I know when a single model... like a Riptide fires 3 weapons at a squad, then that order of operation may have different results.


Click to see....
gallery_2760_14273_30255.jpg
Instagram: @Prot40k


#3
WarriorFish

WarriorFish

    ++ PRÆFECT SOCIORUM ++

  • +++ADMINISTRATUM+++
  • 22,154 posts
  • Location:Blighty
  • Faction: Hunter Legion

This is my understanding also, if you want to break down the rule/get full proof the OR is the best place to deconstruct any rule thumbsup.gif


gallery_48988_15465_8206.pnggallery_30308_9518_1551.pnggallery_30308_3239_3185.pnggallery_30308_9518_17558.pnggallery_30308_3239_193.pnggallery_30308_3239_17729.png
Painting Oaths Completed:
gallery_30308_3239_28.gifgallery_30308_3239_28.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_84.gifgallery_30308_3239_42.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_42.gifgallery_30308_3239_28.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_42.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gif
gallery_30308_3239_42.gifgallery_30308_3239_102.gifgallery_30308_3239_42.gif
In the grim predictability of online 40k, there can be only Sun Tzu quotes

SM Ironclad | IG Stormies | CSM Raptors | =][= Stormies | AM Armigers | DE [Repaint] | TSons Rubrics | Daemons Keeper of Secrets

#4
Are Verlo

Are Verlo

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 518 posts
  • Location:Norway (Tromsø 69N, 18.5E)
  • Faction: Blood Angels
By the «main rules» you get to chose the sequence in your turn (page 178).

There is nothing to discuss. Since it is your turn when you manifest AB, you chose in what order the mortal wounds are inflicted.
  • Heliomanes likes this

#5
Xenith

Xenith

    +FRATER DOMUS+

  • + FRATER DOMUS +
  • 10,955 posts

If the model is designated as a target before other models are removed, then it can still be impacted. Otherwise you'd have people taking off the closest models to deny shorter rnged weapons shooting. 


gallery_58096_14832_1433.gifgallery_58096_14832_1808.gifgallery_58096_11725_17801.pnggallery_58096_11725_17950.pnggallery_29004_9303_844.pngfriday-award.pngXX 

++ Hive Fleet Jabberwocky ++ The Baalite Feast of Blades 2016; 2018 ++





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users