My Interest is Piqued, BUT...

Julgolax

I don't think GW really cares much about the Necron range anymore. I hear mixed reviews about the rules too, some units are incredible others are garbage.

Necron Warriors are still sold in boxes of 12, but are built in squads of 10-20.

Destroyers and Heavy Destroyers make no sense compared to Tomb Blades, which are supposedly better and/or cheaper in points, PLUS cheaper in dollars too. (3 Destroyers for $50.00 vs 3 Tomb Blades for $41.25 O.o ...)

Immortals are $10 more expensive in lots of 10 than NEW Primaris Marines O.o

Almost all the HQ choices are still in Resin

Though I have no experience with Necrons in the game itself, all I hear is negativity when I've asked elsewhere about Lychguard & Triarchs (less of an issue but kind of concerning)

Flayed Ones, why do I see negativity about them too?

On the positive side, the models have aged really well in my opinion, and even the modified lore & models of units such as Wraiths, Spyders, Crypteks and Lychguard / Triarch Praetorians (I.E. Pariahs ;-) ) I was one of the folks who didn't like the 'great weakening' of the Necrons in the lore, at first. Going from ghastly mechanical specters capable of rendering power armor to ash and punching holes through both hulls of a Land Raider, making entire colonies disappear in hours... to automatons with alzheimers lead by petty and deranged rulers. HOWEVER, reading more into it now, I've grown to love the struggle to reactivate their super-ancient empire and conquer the galaxy once again, and the Silent King & Szeras trying to find a veritable symbiosis between inorganic technology and organic biology.

What makes me want to play Necrons is the narrative of being one of these super-ancient Overlords who is simultaneously charged with enormous responsibility and given enormous freedom in his cybernetic undeath.