Epic/6-8mm Infantry Painting Guide

This is a guide to painting marines at 6-8mm scale for Epic and Adeptus Titanicus.

Objective of this guide: A quick process for painting the little guys. Don't be afraid!

WE_tac2.jpg

Firstly, it's important to dispel one myth; that painting at this scale is more difficult than at 28mm. It's actually far easier for the most part, as the scale means that some of the more exotic techniques are not possible, it responds well to washes and drybrushing, and due to the limited power of our eyes mistakes are less noticeable! I'm by no means an expert but hopefully this guide should serve to show that it's possible to get reasonable results with relatively little time and effort. 

STEP 1: Miniatures & equipment.

You will need the following:

- Miniatures! The important part. 6mm scale miniatures from the various iterations of Space Marine are available from eBay. There are also a wide range of smaller companies now producing 'Space Knight' type miniatures which can serve as excellent proxies. The infantry miniatures below are from Vanguard Miniatures, the tanks are classic GW miniatures (and came 2nd hand in that green colour, it wasn't me! Just needed some purple and a Grief Bringers fan perhaps?). 

- Usual hobby tools -There isn't really anything you should need at this scale beyond items that will already be in a miniature painters arsenal. A brush with a very fine head, otherwise the only other item (depending on your eyesight requirements) might be a modelling magnifying glass. These are available from most arts and crafts shops and can help if your eyes aren't as young as they used to be! (I find they help a little if your eyes are tired). 

STEP 2: Preparation

- Get everything out and ready. I find it easier to paint the miniatures still on their sprue, but you can take them off and mount them on cocktail sticks, or even paint them directly on the base.