Looking for assistance vs filthy Heretics

Lukoi

So, I am extremely new to 40k as a player, but I find it extremely entertaining, and the theorycrafting of various lists and situations provides endless things to discuss, and learn.

That being said, I've gotten some games in via TTS and while I fully expect to lose most or all of them against my much more experienced opponents, I seem to be struggling the most against Chaos and Heretic mixed units the most. Like tabled in 2 turns kind of struggling, so I'm here looking for guidance from the more experienced among you.

Its 2k, ITC rules for every match. Now my two recent beat downs, I admittedly made big mistakes in regards to placement of my anti psyker assets, so that's on me, and I know how to do that better for the future. And in both cases, one against Alpha Legion+ possessed bomb/demon support, the other vs Thousand Sons + Lord of Change/Tzaandon/demon support, I basically elected to go second and deployed too conservatively. Also all on me. But I dont think going second should he a death sentence for RG.

So, my issues weren't so much with the psychic, mortal wound slinging, as it was the invluns. Invulns everywhere. Between the spell buffs, movement tricks, and in the case of Rubric marines, just the -2 AP bolsters there was admittedly enough to deal with, but ultimately it was firing fruitlessly at targets that in almost all cases had 3+ or 4+ invulns to keep them out of trouble.

How do you deal with Armies that simply drive forward relying on these magically enhanced invulns to be durable?

I'm positive, there is something probably blatantly obvious that I'm overlooking here in target prioritization, or something.

Any help appreciated.